The ONE campaign

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nickypiemcg

The Fly
On that video on the ONE website celebrities say they aren't asking for your money. If an addtional 1% of the US budget is allocated to their causes isn't that taxpayers money? So they actually are asking for your money then aren't they? Why not just be upfront about it. Surely taking 1% out of the US budget will affect the poor of America not the millionaires? (I'm taking a guess that most of the people on the video are millionaires). So why don't celebrities all band together and give their money to Africa? I know people will say that their money is too small an amount too make a difference but surely if it can save some lives it is worth it. I don't belive that millions of dollars won't make a difference somewhere? Don't get me wrong I'm not technically against the ONE campaign but it's quit easy to be for debt relief etc when the rich celebrities know theywon't be materially affected.

What does the average movie star/rock star have? A hundred million bucks? That's a never-have-to-work-again fortune for most people, but we're not talking about a person here. We're talking about a country and that money won't make a dent in Africa. That's why Bono doesn't give any of his money to Africa. It wouldn't make a dent. Africa needs hundreds of BILLIONS of dollars, not hundreds of millions. There is only one source of money that can shell out a hundred billion dollars, and that is the government.

namkcuR said: