Teacher Suspened after comments about Bush

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Well, I'm a teacher....I've got students in my room right now so I haven't listened to the tape, but no teacher has the right to go on biased rants with impressionable students. I'm a social studies teacher so we discuss hot topics all of the time---I take pride in the fact that my students have absolutely no clue where I stand on the issues. Some think I'm a liberal, some think I'm conservative, it's great.

Edit: I'm really not a bad teacher for being on here during the school day--most of my students are on a field trip so I'm monitering a 3 student study hall ;)

Last edited:
A teacher should be like (The sepration of church and state) They are there to teach not give a one sided rant.

i think it's scary when we suspend teachers for what they think, whether it's idiots on the Right, as it seems to be in this case, or the idiots on the Left who were so disgusted at Larry Summers and his *suggestion* about women and math which eventually lead to him stepping down as president of Harvard.

[q]"I'm not in anyway implying that you should agree with me, I don't even know if I'm necessarily taking a position. But what I'm trying to get you to do is to think about these issues more in depth and not to just take things from the surface."
[/q]

i suppose the thought police come from all sides of the political spectrum. instead of political correctness, we've got Patriotic Correctness.

Some idiot kid without doesn't like his teacher's political views, so he gets him suspended. This used to be America.

LPU2 said:
Some idiot kid without doesn't like his teacher's political views, so he gets him suspended. This used to be America.

Students have the right to learn both sides of the story, not one sided rants.