Question for anyone who practices the Buddhist Faith?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Justin24

Rock n' Roll Doggie ALL ACCESS
Ok so as you know I am an avid amateur photographer. I would love to go to a buddhist temple and photograph some of the ceremonies. photograph some monks individully. Any advice?

I've never tried it in the US, but I've done a fair amount of casual photography at Buddhist and Hindu temples and monasteries in India and Nepal. This is more or less the process I go usually go through.

-- Come up with a list of temples and/or monasteries that you want to visit, and try to find out as much as you can about them before contacting them--a little knowledge is always a reassuring sign of respect. (What sect are they and what are the general features of that sect, for example; what ethnic community do they serve; what sorts of practices and ceremonies do they observe there, etc.) Perhaps they have a website, or perhaps an academic reference librarian could help you dig up some background. It might be helpful if there's a professor at your college or one of its affiliate campuses who teaches Buddhist studies, as they'd probably have at least a little experience with the local community and perhaps be able to give you some pointers. I don't recommend trying to take pictures at any place where no one seems to speak English well--the potential for misunderstanding and unintentionally giving offense is too great.