Psychotherapy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MrsSpringsteen

Blue Crack Addict
What are your opinions about it? Does it work, and for what issues/problems does it work best? Or are most shrinks a bit off themselves :wink:

If anyone feels comfortable enough to share any personal experiences that would be great :)

Hi MrsSpringsteen...I'm not online for too much longer but a quick comment...I worked as a psychotherapist for 4 years (mostly with substance abusers who also had mental health issues and who came from multicultural backgrounds). I'm obviously biased in thinking that psychotherapy is very effective, depending on what you put into it as a client. If people are really ready to deal with their "stuff" and are willing to critically examine themselves and their relationships with others, it can be a powerful tool. Much depends on the relationship you have with the therapist, so I'd recommend to anyone finding someone they "click" with. It can be an LCSW (licensed clinical social worker) or a Ph.D/M.A. in psychology. Another important issues to address, in my opinion, is that there are no "quick fixes" when exploring personal issues. Therapy is an investment of time and money, and three sessions aren't going to cure anything...and as much work, if not more, has to happen *outside* therapeutic sessions as it does during (in terms of reflection, journaling, communicating your thoughts and feelings with important people in your life, etc.)
Many people feel that drug therapy will solve everything. While antidepressants/anti-anxiety medications can be effective, all studies show that they are best used in conjunction with insight-oriented therapy.

Just my 2 cents...feel free to email me if you want to chat further!
ruffian@u2email.com

p.s.