My God. Now we ARE living in a police state. (Literally).

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Teta040

Refugee
A few weeks ago I posted a thread (which didn't get alot of responses BTW) in which I related that our biggest local mall, Crossgates, in Albany, NY, was starting a strict new curfew policy in which people age 18 and under would be banned from the mall on weekends without an adult. I thought at the time that this was, in addition to being a dangerous infreingment on young people's rights (they can't vote , so who cares a frig about what they may have to say?) an insult of the highest proportions. Like, I can drive a car and in another year, I can vote. And I'm a freshman in college too. But I can't go to the mall on the weekend alone? Who the :censored: do people think they are, passing judgements on who is mature enough to handle a shopping trip, and who isn't? If they've been having problems with teens in malls (but thisis the weird part--I live across the st from this mall and pass thorugh it in and out alot on the way home to and from work, etc) there have been no major incidents with kids lately. The biggest incident, in fact, came 2 yrs ago when a man was arrested for wearing a (supposed) anti-war in Iraq shirt which he had BOUGHT IN THE MALL. You might recall this made national headlines. Funny, they didn;t mind selling it and making money, or displaying itin a shop windowm but wearing it was different. Likewise, teens aren;t banned from driving, b/c they do to other businesses and resturaunts....

I knew they were serious aobut the law, but today, I went into the mall and there, at every entrance, they actually have 2 uniformed security guards standing behind tables scurtinizing each and every person who walks into this mall. They mean business. (I noticed the crowds were much thinner too.)