MERGED --> Peter Jennings 1938-2005 + Goodbye, Peter Jennings.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Peter Jennings 1938-2005

Just heard on a new's break on NBC that ABC News anchor Peter Jennings has died after his battle with lung cancer, at the age of 67.
I had heard he had lung cancer but no idea it was that progressed..

My heart goes out to his children and family..

Wow. My thoughts are with his friends and family.

I can't believe it.
Rest in peace, Peter Jennings.

I have older relatives who still remember him on TV here in Toronto. He will be missed.

When I was a homesick student in India, I used to head across town once a week to the US Consulate, to watch a clumsily edited montage of that week's top stories from ABC World News Tonight. Of course, I could have gotten all these stories by reading The Hindu or The Times of India, but that wasn't the point. It was just so soothing and reassuring to see and hear the familiar North American facial expressions and accents I'd been missing. And above all, silly though it sounds, it was comforting to have the familiar persona of Peter Jenkins presiding over the whole experience. Previously, I would have scoffed at the idea that a news anchor could have had that powerful a cultural presence.

A bit of a shock, 'cause he'd just announced his cancer thing recently and talked about getting treatment for it.

Very sad to hear this. He was well-respected, and really seemed to care about the job he was doing, really seemed to care about the people he was doing stories on/the public who heard the stories and stuff. Such a shame. And yes, 67 is too young an age to go.

Condolances to all his family and his friends. R.I.P., Peter :( :sad:.

He was the only anchorman I cared to listen to. Don't think there is anyone else I'll watch.