Medical Liability reform

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

V Nura

Refugee
This is the most idiotic thing the administration can possibly do. Now they are saying the most you can get if you are teh victim of malpractice is 250,000 for pain and suffering.

Think about this. If malpractice by an OBGYN results in the death of a mother during childbirth (which yes still happens in reare cases)....the most that father and child would be entitled to is 250,000

As a future physician I think this is absolute idiocy. If dr. makes mistake he's liable for it..there are no excuses and his malpractice insurance should be charged in a manner that fully compensates the patient.

And a limit of 250,000 does not even come close to compensating some of the things that these ppl go through.

You can only claim economic losses on top of the 250,000 which in most cases is lost wages. ....so 250,000 plus lost wages..and you've been horribly impacted by a doctors error. .......utter crap.

This policy is not holding dr's to their jobs which is to complete any course of treatment with skill, and responsibility.

Arun,

The state of California did pass a form of this in the late 80s, malpractice insurance premiums continued to go up (a little slower at first). Why, because they could raise rates. Then in the 90s insurance regulation was passed and insurance premiums are no longer front-page news. Rate increases are now regulated.

Trial lawyers are easy targets. The old lady who spilled the McDonalds coffee is a favorite example. A few poor decisions do not mean the system should be scrapped.

Bush does not receive contributions from trial lawyers. Bush does receive many contributions from Insurance Cos. and HMOs.

The problem is.....if the cap were say 5 million or 6 million...I could almost live with that

But 250,000?????.......it's ridiculous...I hope the bill goes down in flames