Looking for Evidence of Evolution? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Free Your Mind > Free Your Mind Archive
Click Here to Login

Old 06-24-2004, 05:23 PM   #1
ONE
love, blood, life

Local Time: 11:32 PM
Looking for Evidence of Evolution?

I'm not a scientist, but I'd definitely say that this is one (of many, of course):

http://www.cnn.com/2004/HEALTH/06/24....ap/index.html

Quote:
Somewhere in Germany is a baby Superman, born in Berlin with bulging arm and leg muscles. Not yet 5, he can hold seven-pound weights with arms extended, something many adults cannot do. He has muscles twice the size of other kids his age and half their body fat.

DNA testing showed why: The boy has a genetic mutation that boosts muscle growth.

The discovery, reported in Thursday's New England Journal of Medicine, represents the first documented human case of such a mutation.
Curious, eh?

Melon

Old 06-24-2004, 06:10 PM   #2
Refugee

Location: on a one of these small green spots at that blue planet at the end of the milky way
Local Time: 05:32 AM
melon: even supporters of "creation" are sure that there is evolution, the question is: can evolution create something out of nothing?

Old 06-24-2004, 06:34 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict

This may or may not be evolution depending on whether or not the mutation is deleterious.

I believe in evolution as a scientist, but this may not be the best example. A better one would be the relationship between malaria resistance and sickle cell anaemia.
Old 06-24-2004, 06:34 PM   #4
ONE
love, blood, life

No, I think that strict creationists believe in the "seven days" of creation, meaning that the above would offend them. Those who believe in a God-created evolution believe in the "intelligent design" theory, meaning that any scientific theory, like the above, shouldn't offend them.

Melon
Old 06-24-2004, 06:50 PM   #5
Refugee

Location: on a one of these small green spots at that blue planet at the end of the milky way