Jobs Vs Conscious

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Basstrap

ONE love, blood, life
I work with an oil plant now.

Syncrude, canada; maybe one of the largest oil producers in north america, if not the largest producer.

Oil is like dirt to them. They cover all the roads in the mine and plant with oil just to keep the dust down

Basically everyone here is against Kyoto, I remember hearing people say how bad it is.
But of course, there are only selfish reasons not to let Kyoto go through. God forbid you take a paycut for the sake of the environment.

So this is where I - Liberal canadian - work

anyone else ever work a job that grated on your conscious?

Great thread Bassy!

I too lean liberal.

I am a manager of a location and have very right leaning employees. Daily, I have to explain to them why I have manage the budget as I do, which in turn, may hurt their own pay checks. I hate having to explain to them that their "right leanings" support big companies and not individual employees and that the reason I have to control the budget is because that is what the financial heads ask of me, and that the financial folks answer to our ultimate bosses...the shareholders. ITs funny how everything changes when its their own pocketbook brought into the conversation.

Anyway...I HATE the corporate focus of the "shareholder" rather than the customer or employee. HATE HATE HATE!

At the same time....I need to live in this world...and I do alright where I am at. And this is only the beginning of the battle - it will only get worse, I believe.

*throws his arms up

Yeah, me :sigh:

Im an adminstrator in a safety and health/risk management environment. I used to process 2/3 of the applications for genetic manipulation work to be done in the State.

Then they gave that job to someone else.

And now I order radioactive substances and organise the disposal of the used 'stuff'

:sigh: