I Have Given Up Organized Religion - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Free Your Mind > Free Your Mind Archive
Click Here to Login

Old 01-06-2004, 08:55 PM   #1
LCK
Acrobat

Local Time: 01:57 PM
I Have Given Up Organized Religion

I'm a Grad student who has taken numerous elective courses in theology, philosophy and history and so often throughout history, organized religion has led to bloodshed and intolerance. It is so often the cause of hate in today's society. And I don't think there is only one path to God. For me that path is Jesus but for someone else it might be Moses or Mohammed or nature etc. I am not going to tell someone else his/ her system of belief is wrong or inferior to mine. Debate is healthy, but only if it is respectful and open-minded. In my own life it seems the people who are allegedly the most religious have been the ones I have been most disillusioned by. Some religious people have hearts of gold, but so many others are pious and judgemental. I no longer go to church but I still pray. I do not take my children to church but I teach them about Jesus, and together we learn about other religions too- why the Mennorah is lit on Hannakuh or why people fast during Ramadan or about the ancient Greek philosopehers. Most of all however, I want to teach them tolerance and acceptance, not a fire and brimstone regime of fear and hate.

Old 01-06-2004, 09:47 PM   #2
Acrobat

Local Time: 11:57 AM
I don't know...I have a religion but I've always been on the outside of it because I don't belong inside it. I believe in it, but I just don't belong...I think it's because the people are so boring.

Old 01-06-2004, 11:34 PM   #3
War Child

Local Time: 07:57 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Soul Always
I don't know...I have a religion but I've always been on the outside of it because I don't belong inside it. I believe in it, but I just don't belong...I think it's because the people are so boring.