General Tommy Franks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

STING2

Rock n' Roll Doggie FOB
General Tommy Franks was the CENTCOM commander for US and coalition forces until he retired in August 2003. CENTCOM's area of operations covers everything from Egypt to India. General Tommy Franks was in charge of both the operations in Afghanistan as well as the operation in Iraq until his retirement in 2003. He endorsed George Bush recently at the Republican convention. Here is his speech:

Thank you so much. That made me want to step out here...

Thank you. Thank you so much.

That introduction made me want to step out here and say, "Hi. I'm Tommy Franks, and I approved that message."

Wow. This convention rocks.

As P.X. Kelley said: I'm not a Republican. I'm not a Democrat. But I believe in democracy, and I believe in America.

For almost four decades as a soldier I've been independent.

Now, there are those who would say very independent. But here I stand tonight endorsing George W. Bush to be the next president of the United States.

Look, America is a land of opportunity. America is a land of choice. And a great wartime president, Franklin Roosevelt, once said, "Democracy cannot succeed unless those who express their choice are prepared to choose wisely."

Delegates, friends, I'm prepared to choose wisely. And I choose George W. Bush.

And indeed I'm honored to join American patriots on this stage, men who know, as our troopers' moms and dads, and husbands and wives, know that freedom is never free.

Freedom is never free.

And these men are men who stepped forward to lead America's sons and daughters. They led them selflessly. They remained loyal to their country and loyal to their troops.

And I join them in saluting our commander in chief, George W. Bush.