Form 180. What is it? Is it important?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thane

The Fly
I'm new to this forum. My name is thane. I am a polictical novice and know very little in the vast sea of politics.

Recently in conversation one of the participants mentioned a 'form 180' and most candidates sign this as a release before running.

What is it, is it important?
Please help.

thanks,
thane noveau

Popmartijn,

Thank you for the explanation.

Have both candidates signed this form?
Is there a place a voter would be able to find out?

Thane.

The reference is to the military records for Kerry that remain under wraps. Some have had issue with his version of his Vietnam experience.

nbcrusader said:
The reference is to the military records for Kerry that remain under wraps. Some have had issue with his version of his Vietnam experience.

Same with Bush.

I'm not sure Bush's records are under wraps because he has not filed a Form 180. At least, I have not seen a request made that Bush complete this form.

nbcrusader said:
I'm not sure Bush's records are under wraps because he has not filed a Form 180.

if kerry had a sharpie on hand, he wouldn't have to file a form 180 either.

I thought Bush released all of his military records and signed this form.

Am I correct ?

thane noveau

thane said:
I thought Bush released all of his military records and signed this form.

Am I correct ?

thane noveau

No, it seems as if Bush also did not sign this form. From the Washington Times (I think from 18 August 2004):
http://washingtontimes.com/national/20040818-121345-3874r.htm