"Christmas" or "Holiday"? : 5 Scenarios - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Free Your Mind > Free Your Mind Archive
Click Here to Login

Old 12-10-2005, 11:43 PM   #1
Forum Moderator

Local Time: 06:44 AM
"Christmas" or "Holiday"? : 5 Scenarios

I've tried to make these as realistic as possible, but I have no direct experience with any of these situations, so please excuse any wildly unrealistic elements I may have included.

I am curious to see what FYMers would actually do in concrete situations, when the issue is brought out of the epic-battle-for-the-future-of-our-culture stratosphere.

1) You're a public elementary school teacher planning your annual ____ classroom party, including a note to be sent to parents briefly describing your plans and requesting volunteers. You know two of your students celebrate Chanukah, while one celebrates Kwanzaa; you're *pretty* sure all the rest celebrate Christmas. But, there's only time and money for one party, so do you:
a) describe it as a "Christmas" party and have only a tree, Santa decorations, etc.
b)describe it as a "Holiday" party and have symbols present from all three traditions.
c)describe it as a "Christmas/Chanukah/Kwanzaa" party and have symbols present from all three traditions.
d)describe it as a "Holiday" party and have only completely non-religion-associated decorations, such as snowflakes.
e)opt to skip the party altogether.

2)You're the Christian owner of a software company in an urban area with a large Muslim population. Recently, you've hired two Muslim employees. In previous years, you've written Christmas cards to all your employees, the rest of whom celebrate Christmas. You happen to know the major Muslim holiday, Eid al-Fitr, won't fall in December this year, but in early November. So this year, do you:
a)send out only "Christmas" cards to all employees, as before.
b)send out only "Holiday" cards, to all employees.