being 'politically correct' - how important is it?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

all_i_want

Refugee
being politically correct, using the right terms.. does it matter? does it really hide the real intention?

is it the intention or the statement that matters ?

what do you think?

I think it's phoney and a form of censorship. Don't get me started.:censored:

"Politically correct" is a reactionary term to an environment where it is essentially stated (for example) "you are a racist, prove me wrong". In todays environment, when one is accused (rightly or wrongly) of racism, or holding racist beliefs, everything else that is said stops until you respond to the charge.

The term, however, is sometimes overused to mask true racist beliefs.

I had bad experiences with "politically correct" when I was a history student. In history departments all across the country, we had the Controversy From Hell over African historical studies. The biggest dispute was over Cleopatra's ethnic background. It exasperated me. The name Cleopatra was Greek; her dynastic name, Ptolemy, was Greek, and the family was founded by a Macedonian Greek, Ptolemy, one of Alexander the Great's generals. It infuriated me to hear these pious African studies activists claim that she was of African descent, and "not Caucasian like all the racist historians claim". :censored: :censored: Please. They were taking the old African nationalist argument and applying it to history. They were trying to start African studies departments in the universities. An African American history prof who opposed the idea as too politically motivated really had to put up with all sorts of crud. He was a brilliant Napoleonic scholar with a military background and was a pretty conservative guy. So naturally he didn't like alot of their politics. It's this lack of honesty that really turns me off about "political correct" stuff.