Ask the Audio Engineer/Producer - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Free Your Mind > Free Your Mind Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 02:58 AM   #1
Refugee
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver,CO
Posts: 1,388
Local Time: 07:52 PM
Ask the Audio Engineer/Producer

From getting your own project studio off the ground to late night studio stories. ProTools or Logic? What really happens...
__________________

__________________
cmb737 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:20 AM   #2
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
The_Edge89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sweden Northwest of Dancing ZooTV
Posts: 4,068
Local Time: 03:52 AM
What's a fairly cheap setup for home-recording with your PC?
__________________

__________________
The_Edge89 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:32 AM   #3
Refugee
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver,CO
Posts: 1,388
Local Time: 07:52 PM
Depending on your needs and what your goals are I would recommend the following (keep in mind this is without any idea of your knowledge, PC system, or budget)

PreSonus Firebox as a Firewire Audio Interface, using Cakewalk. An external firewire drive is best, a good brand (Glyph if you can afford it...NEVER USE YOUR INTERNAL DRIVE), and near fields are too dependant on your room size. For this budget, you aren't gonna get much of a preamp, but if you are doing a lot of electronic stuff it won't matter.

That is a real basic, but pretty good start.

If you have the budget, I would go with a Digidesign MBox factory bundle instead however. I am a huge ProTools user and I think its ease of use and pro capabilities are unmatched. The MBox gets you in for around $500.00. I run a Digi 002 Rack and I love it.

If you decide to go with ProTools, deal with Sweetwater as they are the largest retailer of ProTools systems and provide great customer support. Digidesign is terrible at support. Not sure what they do if you are an international customer. The exchange rate might be good or bad...not sure.

A good starting mic is any of the KSM 32 from Shure. This is a good condenser that is very versatile. The KSM 44 has more features, but is more expensive. Get some Shure SM57's too. These are the catch all mic. Spend a bit more money on the front end. It doesn't matter what your computer can do if the audio source sounds like crap.
__________________
cmb737 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 07:24 AM   #4
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 09:52 PM
ProTools is nice, but every computer I've ever used with it seems to be exceptionally fragile. One changed setting, even outside ProTools and nothing to do with it, can make it crash completely and never run again. Someone changed the background of the desktop once and that did it.

But yeah...I know someone with a home studio out in LA. Very cool, once you can get it stable.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 09:22 AM   #5
Refugee
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver,CO
Posts: 1,388
Local Time: 07:52 PM
ProTools 6 is very stable. Easily as stable as any other DAW software.

The problem is Windows XP is not that efficient an OS. Digidesign recommends not using ProTools in conjunction with Athalon processors. Most try and run DAW software with WAY too little RAM as well. You need at least a GIG if not more.

Apple is the best option for any creative software.
__________________
cmb737 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 09:26 AM   #6
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 09:52 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by cmb737
Apple is the best option for any creative software.
Yes, but this was an Apple that I was having problems with.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 11:13 AM   #7
Refugee
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver,CO
Posts: 1,388
Local Time: 07:52 PM
That sucks, I have a feeling it is most likely related to the buffer settings and his overall memory.
__________________
cmb737 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 08:49 PM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
hiphop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the jungle
Posts: 7,410
Local Time: 04:52 AM
Why never use the internal drive? Its faster than an external one and therefore better for audio (latency time, resources etc.) lots of professional studios use internal drives as well as external ones.

Also, have you heard of the RME interfaces? I think their A/D converters are great, compared to the small Digidesign interfaces.

Would you really recommend Shure SM57 (or 58 for that matter) for recording studio vocals? I tend to use it for live vocals or for guitar amplifiers in the studio (since its dynamic), whereas I would definitely recommend a condensator mic for studio vocals and most acoustic instruments.
__________________
hiphop is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 11:13 PM   #9
Refugee
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver,CO
Posts: 1,388
Local Time: 07:52 PM
The comment about an internal drive was meant for a budget PC recording setup. He probably doesn't have a very high grade computer, with an even lower grade hard drive that may or may not be very reliable. The point of buying an external one (or a second internal one) is to have the CPU running the computer off of one and streaming audio to/from another drive. Not essential, but highly recommended.

Of course I would never recommend 57's for vocals, unless they are being used for an effect. I mentioned the KSM mic for vocals...57's for pretty much anything else. They work well on drums, guitar cabs, rooms, hell there are a lot of records made mostly on 57's. But for vocals/kickdrum/strings/horns...got with a large diaphragm condenser.

RME are good, but not a very budget item. If given an budget I would recommend a much higher converter like an Apogee or something like that, as well as a pro level pre amp.
__________________
cmb737 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 07:14 PM   #10
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
Se7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: all around in the dark - everywhere
Posts: 3,531
Local Time: 09:52 PM
how long have you been recording?

what % of your income does it account for, if any?

what genres do you work with most frequently?
__________________
Se7en is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 07:17 PM   #11
Refugee
 
unosdostres14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ogacihC
Posts: 1,558
Local Time: 02:52 AM
Is Samplitude the best program for home multi-track recording?
__________________
unosdostres14 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 07:22 PM   #12
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
trevster2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,330
Local Time: 11:22 PM
Do you have a nickname? or is it just Colin the audio engineer.
__________________
trevster2k is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 09:06 PM   #13
Refugee
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver,CO
Posts: 1,388
Local Time: 07:52 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Se7en
how long have you been recording?

what % of your income does it account for, if any?

what genres do you work with most frequently?
Doing it professionally for 3 years, it is 100% of my income, and I work with a lot of rock, country, and contemporary christian artists. Mostly due to the fact that I started in Nashville and that is the majority of what is done there, hence all my connections/reputation. Currently commuting a fair amount and in the process of starting a production company in New Mexico, a highly under-rated market the southwest.

Quote:
Originally posted by unosdostres14
Is Samplitude the best program for home multi-track recording?
This question is way to open ended. What are your needs, what kind of stuff are you recording in your home, what is your experience/knowledge level, what kind of OS are you running...etc. etc.

Quote:
Originally posted by trevster2k
Do you have a nickname? or is it just Colin the audio engineer.
Usually people refer to me by, in sequence, my first THEN my last name. Although I have been called Eddie once or twice, but that was in college. Everyone said I look like an Eddie. I would like a nickname like Flood though...sounds cool.

Perhaps a synonym...outpouring, glut, inundation, deluge...
__________________
cmb737 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 09:08 PM   #14
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
trevster2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,330
Local Time: 11:22 PM
I was hoping you would be K-dog or Slider or Zengineer.
__________________
trevster2k is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 09:11 PM   #15
Refugee
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Denver,CO
Posts: 1,388
Local Time: 07:52 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by trevster2k
I was hoping you would be K-dog or Slider or Zengineer.
Maverick or Merlin...maybe Iceman.
__________________

__________________
cmb737 is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com