Ask The Aspiring Filmmaker

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Miggy D

War Child
I am currently a student at UC Davis. I will be spending my final quarter gearing up for graduation, studying for the GRE, and remaining apathetic about schoolwork in general. I graduate in June, and then head for Los Angeles. I hope to get some work as a Production Assistant on movie sets. I wouldn't mind shining Martin Scorsese's shoes, if that's what was asked of me. I plan on starting film school in the fall of 2006 at either UCLA, Columbia University, or NYU.

Ask any and every question. Doesn't even have to relate to anything mentioned above, but I love talking about movies (and U2 *cough*)!

Have a good one,

-Mike

P.S. - I apologize in advance to all of those who end up asking questions in the next few hours, but I have to go to sleep for now. I have my Puritan Literature final in the morning, but I will answer your questions as soon as possible.

Last edited:
Congratulations. What do you think of the fact that many think film will become obsolete in favor of high-definition video and digital projection? Already, it is generally a matter of shooting in film, converting to the digital video format, Digi-Beta, to employ digital special effects and color correction, and then reconverting to film for projection purposes.

Anyway, I'm an aspiring filmmaker myself, so I've kept up on a lot of these issues. Personally, I'm excited over the fact that film will become obsolete, because video is a lot more robust; a lot less stressful, so you can have multiple takes; and incredibly cheaper. And nowadays, a lot of people don't even realize that they're watching a film that was shot in HD video and then converted to film for projection purposes.

Melon

When you go to film school, will that be for another bachelor's, a master's, or how does that work?