American travelling in Europe?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mike P

Acrobat
In light of recent world events, I have a question for all of you from Europe, or have recently been there:

I'm an American student, 22, and I'm planning a trip to Europe this june. Ireland, France, Netherlands, Germany, and Switzerland are on the agenda. I consider myself fairly worldly, and I speak very good French & a little German. What are my chances of being greeted lovingly/ignored/ harassed/ beaten/ firebombed/etc.?

To be honest, I'm not worried. I think Europe may be safer in upcoming months than the U.S. is, but that's a different story...My mother, however, is completely paranoid about me going, and I'd like to reassure her.

Thanks in advance,

-Mike

I would think the vast majority of people would be nice.

If you really want to be on the safe side, put a Canadian flag on your backpack, lol.

Mike P:

your mother shouldn't worry, most European people disslike the American government, not american people - they know to seperate that.

and well there are some radical fools everywhere - but they were there a few years ago too, radical idots like them are also in the US and in Canada, so don't be afraid. Chances of being killed by crossing the road are much higher than meeting one of this guys.

Klaus

p.s. you should add Athens on your trip - imho it's the startingpoint of European culture :)

i'm not sure about that Klaus.... I think most Europeans associate the American government with the people... Put a Canadian flag on Mike, you'll have a better trip and you will be better received... Canadians are loved in Europe and are known as culturally astute and open-minded.

Being European, I can assure you that most Europeans know the difference between policies of their governments and a tourist.