Abuse Or Just "Teaching A Lesson"?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MrsSpringsteen

Blue Crack Addict
http://www.breitbart.com/news/2005/11/16/D8DTOAD8D.html

EDMOND, Okla.

Tasha Henderson got tired of her 14-year-old daughter's poor grades, her chronic lateness to class and her talking back to her teachers, so she decided to teach the girl a lesson.

She made Coretha stand at a busy Oklahoma City intersection Nov. 4 with a cardboard sign that read: "I don't do my homework and I act up in school, so my parents are preparing me for my future. Will work for food."

"This may not work. I'm not a professional," said Henderson, a 34- year-old mother of three. "But I felt I owed it to my child to at least try."

In fact, Henderson has seen a turnaround in her daughter's behavior in the past week and a half. But the punishment prompted letters and calls to talk radio from people either praising the woman or blasting her for publicly humiliating her daughter.

I have to agree w/ the professor, there must be better more effective means of discipline w/ out humiliating a child in that way. She might get her desired results, but at what price? I don't have kids but I know how it feels to be humiliated by a parent, it hurts so much and it affects you still as an adult.

There is a significant dynamic missing from the story. Was the punishment done for the benefit of the mother (release anger, revenge, etc.) or for the benefit of the daughter? Harsh punishment can be conducted in a loving way - such that the recipient knows the reason for the punishment and what the parent is trying to accomplish.

Maybe it's for the benefit of the mother in that doing something like that is easier for her than trying to find another method. I know I have no right to judge because I don't have kids, but this just makes me cringe and feel sorry for that girl.