It's Officially Jury Duty Time

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

~LadyLemon~

I Serve Larry's Stick
Has anyone had to do this before? I'm supposed to go in on Tuesday...can I get out of it if I'm a student? I don't want to do it, but my boss says it will be cool. Hmm...

I would do a search on it on the internet. You can generally get disqualified from jury duty if the jury duty obligations would sincerely hamper your lifestyle--i.e., if it would make you miss a lot of your classes, then, yes, that would be a sincere excuse. Since a lot of companies have policies that do not discriminate against people who have jury duty, the "financial hardship" excuse may or may not apply, depending if the company will pay you for your time that you are in jury duty.

Of course, you *could* say that you are bigoted against all races, genders, and have an especial hatred for suspected criminals...

Even if you have no excuse, you might get dismissed right away, only because the defense or the prosecution might not like you as a juror anyway for whatever reason. They call more people than they have room for, obviously.

:angry:

I had to go to jury duty once in a federal court. I had no friggin clue what they were talking about in the case so I told them that.

They excused me.

Sicy said:
I had to go to jury duty once in a federal court. I had no friggin clue what they were talking about in the case so I told them that.

They excused me.

That's great.

I never get called for it..:( I would like to do it, I love watching the law in action. (I almost went to law school).

My mom recently did.... they gave her a time to call, so she called at said time and they told her to call back in two days. So she called again, and they said to call the next day...so she calls the next day and they tell her they don't need her. Gotta Love the State of NY