IO: I'm Working at Yosemite - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > It's Official... > It's Official Archive
Click Here to Login

Old 01-28-2005, 07:54 PM   #1
Acrobat

Local Time: 05:04 PM
IO: I'm Working at Yosemite

I know I've never posted on this board before... and heck, I'm new to Interference in general... but I just checked out this IO board for the first time and everyone here seems so great.

So I just wanted to announce what I just found out this week and why I'm incredibly excited:

I just got an internship at Yosemite National Park for this summer!

So I'm currently in my junior year of college, going for a B.A. in Business and B.S. in Geology, and I'm really interested in working for the National Park Service as a career, whether as a ranger or in resource management or whatever. These past couple months, I've been calling up national parks across the country, trying to get a job or internship in order to see if I really do like the NPS lifestyle and whether I really want to go into it as a career or not. And I just found out this week that I've been hired as an intern!

My job? Besides working at a visitor center in Yosemite Valley, I get to do patrols of campgrounds at night and educate campers on proper bear safety and food storage. Which is awesome to me, because any job where I can go around and just talk to new people all day is a perfect fit. Plus, time to hike and explore on the weekends = heaven.

So I just thought I'd let you know what's been on my mind this week (besides U2 tickets). Thanks everyone for reading!

Old 01-28-2005, 07:57 PM   #2
ONE
love, blood, life

Local Time: 03:04 PM
Yosemite - the motherlode of National Parks!

Old 01-28-2005, 08:00 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict

Local Time: 06:04 AM
Congratulations.

Sounds like a wonderful job. I'm envious.
Old 01-28-2005, 08:46 PM   #4
Neon Zebra

that job sounds SO great.

i love the outdoors. hiking, swimming, canoeing...

the NPS needs people like you.