Who defines "biggest band in the world"?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sulawesigirl4

Rock n' Roll Doggie ALL ACCESS
U2 notwithstanding...I was watching the telly yesterday and there was this quick blip about some Christmas special. The thing that caught my attention on the commercial was that they were introducing N'Sync as the most popular band in the world. Now I'm not a numbers expert like STING or doctorwho, but from my travels and experience overseas, I would swear that N'Sync is only popular (and even that is debatable) here in the States. So, how can people get off with these kinds of comments? Is it blatant ethnocentrism? Or just blatant stupidity and ignorance? (Ie. what sells and is popular in the US MUST be popular everywhere....just because). I don't get it.

-sula

The first thing I would take issue with is the very thought that N'Sync would even be called a band. They are a group, they sing and dance and put on a big production. They are not a band. To be a band, members have to play instruments. You don't need to write the music, but you need to be able to play it in order to be called a band.