U2 Rip Off Merchants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gman

New Yorker
Never thought ad see the day when I could acuse my fave 4 musicians of blatantly copying another artist. Listen to start of David Bowie's CAN YOU HEAR ME and you will almost instantly recognise the start of U2s NORTH AND SOUTH OF THE RIVER. The similarities are frightening right down to guitar riff type thing. Only difference is Bowies tune is slower tempo.
Gawd help us!!!

Can You Hear Me came out 20 years before North and South of the River

:huh:

First of all. I never failed to be amazed how some people in here cant heart anything close to a u2 put down without getting all defensive.
As far as the bowie song being 20 years older, does that make it immune from being copied? Methinks not!
Also, as far as "chord progression" goes, I have been playing musical instruments for 30 years. I know a tune when I hear one. I never sed it was the same fookin piece of music. I was highlighting the similarities of the intros. Thats all!

gman said:

Also, as far as "chord progression" goes, I have been playing musical instruments for 30 years. I know a tune when I hear one. I never sed it was the same fookin piece of music. I was highlighting the similarities of the intros. Thats all!

Then it can't be a "blantant" rip off.

:|

yes it can. Vannilla ice was taken to court for copying Queens and DAVID BOWIES (pattern developing here) under pressure bass line. He got off wi copyright because of 1 extra note in his version. Yet it is widely regarded as the same riff.

gman said:
yes it can. Vannilla ice was taken to court for copying Queens and DAVID BOWIES (pattern developing here) under pressure bass line. He got off wi copyright because of 1 extra note in his version. Yet it is widely regarded as the same riff.

But it WAS the same bass line, just with one extra note.