Paul McCartney Will Perform At The Super Bowl Too - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Your Blue Room > Everything You Know Is Wrong > Everything You Know Is Wrong Archive
Click Here to Login

Old 01-16-2002, 07:24 AM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS

Local Time: 04:59 AM
Paul McCartney Will Perform At The Super Bowl Too

LONDON (Reuters) - Paul McCartney is to perform live at next month's Super Bowl in New Orleans with a televised tribute to American heroes after last September's hijack attacks. It will be seen by almost 1 billion people.

``As a sports fan, I am thrilled to have the opportunity to be involved in the Super Bowl, and as a musician, I am honored to add my voice to the message of tribute that this year's Super Bowl will carry,'' the former Beatle said in a statement.

NFL organizers said the Feb. 3 game at the Louisiana Superdome will be seen by 130 million viewers in the United States and beamed to another 800 million worldwide.

McCartney, whose home city of Liverpool is one of the hotbeds of English soccer, will be joined for his ``Freedom'' anthem by 500 young people representing the 180 countries that will televise the Super Bowl.

``It is expected to be the most stirring and emotionally charged Super Bowl ever,'' said consulting producer Michael Flur.

On Sept. 11, McCartney was on the tarmac at New York's JFK airport waiting for take-off when the suicide hijackers crashed two planes into the towers of the World Trade Center.

``I was sitting on a plane at New York airport and watched it unfold through the windows. It will live with me forever,'' said McCartney who then wrote the song ``Freedom'' to boost relief funds for the victims

Old 01-16-2002, 07:31 AM   #2
New Yorker

I like the cause, but i dont like the song...

Old 01-16-2002, 07:32 AM   #3
New Yorker

Local Time: 05:59 AM
So the boys decided to go with a legendary rock star instead of Britney Spears again huh? Once again proving why U2 is soooo much cooler than any other band.