Musicians and reality

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

U2fan42

The Fly
Does anyone here feel that many musicians have lost touch with or never had any grip on reality, and/or take their music a little too seriously? I think it was Sting who I once heard in an interview talking about the sanctity or the integrity of the music or some crap like that, and I almost threw up. Don't get me wrong. I'm all for artists having a social or political conscience and putting positive messages in their music, but it is only music.

Thoughts?

As a musician myself (classical mainly), I can definitely attest to there being a certain sanctity or spirituality to music when you're the performer (at least if you believe in what you're performing), and Ithink a musician wanting to preserve the integrity of the music is a good thing. Think of it - this is their life - what they choose to pursue daily. You'd damn well better believe in it strongly if it's what you do for a living!

I really think that for those groups who have stood the test of time and have put out great music, what it really does come down to is the love of music itself - the glamour, critical acclaim and money are secondary. Like Bono's said before, to take a melody in your head and see it turn into a full fledged song is an amazing thing. To perform music and really touch someone by it, is just incredible. I don't think most (not all, but most) musicians have lost touch or take their music too seriously, they're just passionate about what they do.

Although there are plenty of musicians who have lost touch - Michael Jackson is a prime example. I respect Sting for fighting for his beliefs and for his past musical contributions, but I can't say any music he's released in recent years has gotten me all that excited. Anyway...off on a tangent. :)