Live is Where We Live: Miami

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thelaj

Refugee
The past week I have been thinking a lot about the best live performances of various songs. This is nothing new, I have been updating my "perfect" U2 concert for several years now (called The Goal is Soul incidentally :drool: ).

However, I always have the sensation that I might be missing a superior performance.

Add to that my new-found appreciation of Pop, it seemed the regular "best performance of xxx" seemed to focus on the warhorses. What about taking a look at some of the more obscure songs? Tapping into the collective knowledge seems to make sense, though obviously no definitive selection will be made, at least a short-list could be produced.

I also feel it is important that the recordings are of good sound quality, even if this excludes stellar performances. I know of some great renditions where the sound quality is execrable, which means it is no good for most people's use (car, iPod, stereo etc).
A link to download the track would be extra-super-cool :wink:
If this idea proves popular, it might serve to get us all through the dark dark no-U2 spring.

So with those conditions in mind, we could get on to the first song I am liable consider: Miami. I feel this song is quite average on the album (though fascinating), but live with the "cuba" snippet and extra guitar it is a pretty interesting track that could do with some more attention.

Any offers?

Last edited:
Miami live is definitely a whole different kind of beast than recorded. It makes me wish they'd tackled The Playboy Mansion live, and tried to find that groove.

But on your topic, I am far from an authority. Although, I imagine they may have attempted to deliver an extra-sweet version while IN Miami? Who knows. Axver probably will.