How will Edge replace his Les Paul?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

phillyfan26

Blue Crack Supplier
The Edge gave his cream Les Paul to charity. Does this mean more of a prominent role to his Goldtop that he used mostly on Popmart? How will this go down?

theres a discussion going on in Pleba

Bono also is giving away his famous green Gretsch

phillyfan26 said:
Sorry, I don't tread the waters in there too often.

That's probably wise. :wink:

AtomicBono said:
can't he just buy another one?? :scratch:

I have to admit that was my first thought too. :uhoh:

Well I've always believed the more vintage guitars to be difficult to get. Maybe I'm just a guitar rookie, only having one of my own, but I didn't think it would be easy for him to find another one.

phillyfan26 said:
Well I've always believed the more vintage guitars to be difficult to get. Maybe I'm just a guitar rookie, only having one of my own, but I didn't think it would be easy for him to find another one.

They are difficult to replace, but Dallas will probably find a good one. Even if he auditions 10 '75 Les Pauls that look the same, they may not sound as good as his current one.

Ebay. There are several 1975 Les Pauls listed.

Still, guitars are like pianos, no two feel or sound the same, and this one has a lot of years and songs played on it. You can replace the instrument but not the memories and the sentiment.

I'm blown away, to be honest. Remember during the Lola Cashman trial when Bono made the point that the band wouldn't have given her stuff because "it would be like the Edge giving away one of his guitars."

silvrlvr said:

I'm blown away, to be honest. Remember during the Lola Cashman trial when Bono made the point that the band wouldn't have given her stuff because "it would be like the Edge giving away one of his guitars."

That's not the same at all.