Guitar Players: Is Edge That Good?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Badyouken

Acrobat
Of course, we all love Edge's signature guitare sound, his creativity, his ability to make an atmosphere just by himself, etc...

Some of us in Interference play the guitar. I am just learning, but I find that U2 songs are very easy to play. There are harder ones, of course. But when I see Clapton songs, I find it much more difficult to play.

My question is for those who are good guitar players: Is Edge that good?

I think so, but I'm an unexperienced player, maybe you guys think he's not the guitar God some of us claim he is...

------------------
"You see things and say 'Why?'; but I dream things that never were and I say 'Why not?'" -- George Bernard Shaw

yes he is incredible. but that doesnt mean that johnny greenwood is any less.

to be honest i think theyre at the same level. just that johnny is more willing to be more wiered because thats the way radiohead is right now.

good question, good topic.

------------------
-death bear

You may be able to play the notes, but how well do you paint the picture? Set the mood?

I've been playing U2 for years, and I still struggle to get the right tones....

Of course, having equipment helps, but remember, it's FAR easier to copy, than to create this stuff. And it is MAGICAL stuff....
smile.gif

------------------
I'll tell you a story about Johnny McGory.
Shall I being it? Well, that's all that's in it

Originally posted by RufusYoungblood:
You may be able to play the notes, but how well do you paint the picture? Set the mood?
mmm, yes
I can play the notes to "I Still Haven't Found ...", but it still sounds crap
frown.gif

------------------
Salome
Shake it, shake it, shake it