For those musically educated, skilled, musicians etc...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

U2girl

Blue Crack Addict
...as you're people "from the field", i always wanted to ask a musician this (since i'm no expert):

how good are U2 musically, expertwise and technically? You know,how good of a singer is Bono, how good of a guitar player is Edge, how good of a drummer is Larry and how good of a bass player is Adam (compared to other bands you have listened to)?

I played the trumpet for ten years and I'm just slowly learning to play guitar. Maybe I'm not technically "qualified" to answer this question, but here's one thing I can say...

I have noticed with U2's music I can listen to one part (like Larry's, Adam's, Edge's, Bono's) throughout a whole song without getting bored, and with a lot of other bands it's not that way at all. You need all the parts together or else it's really boring.

Been playing guitar for abour 7 years now.

Bono isn't a vocalist. He's a singer. Vocalists rely on pitch, tone, etc. Singers rely on emotion. In that sense, Bono is an amazing singer - but not the greatest vocalists. Another example of a great vocalist is/was John Lennon (though I'm not a fan of his).

The Edge, I believe, is a great guitarist. He has weaknesses (not much of a lead guitarist) and he knows 'em. But he continues to experiment with different styles (ala the funk-esque "in a little while"). There's one thing that Edge can do with a guitar that most guitarists can't. And that thing is bring an emotional response from the guitar. I swear I can hear that guitar screaming and taunting me during "the fly".