Critical Listening of Vertigo

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cmb737

Refugee
I just thought I would comment on the make up of this song from a mixing standpoint. Not sure how many of you pay attention to these things, but as it is how I make my living...it kind of is a curse, listen with earphones with your eye's shut and visualize. It is ear candy my friends.

Heavily panned guitars...overdriven HEAVILY compressed guitar full left...and it stays there. Most of the audio program is from center (Bono and Adam) and the left (edge). Listen to the choruses...the reverb travels left to right...(ex:hola, donde esta?). There is a screaming long guitar right way low on the right side during the choruses as well. Then the guitar solo/bridge explodes by bringing the more "traditional" edge delay sound in from the right crushing your skull. The absolute butter is the last chorus, listen for the synth like overdriven guitar from the right. My personal favorite.

Bono is using a similar reverb scheme, but the feedback (meaning the repeats of his words) are much more present than the past as well as it pans. He has been using this delay time for his voice for years. Have you heard the alien reverb delay on the last "feel" before the guitar solo/bridge on the right?

Pay attention to the varying levels in the guitar program, they build the entire song in reference to Bono's vocals. Most of the guitar grit and crunch is actually low end from Adam.

The lights go down: can you hear him say that prior to him actually saying it in the very first verse? Reminiscent of the tape bleed on "whole lotta love" by led zepplin. In that particular case the tape was stored wound backwards instead of "tails out" and you can hear the bleed. The vocal actually "ghosts" before the real vocal. Quite a simple trick nowadays...but not done on purpose in the 70's.