Woo last night i taught myself how to play guitar!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

U2democrat

Blue Crack Addict
I'm so proud of myself! I was just chillin in my room listening to John Mellencamp, my latest obsession, when i picked up my acoustic guitar and started picking out some of the notes. The next thing I knew i was playing the guitar part of "Small Town"!!!!!!!! I'm so proud of myself :D

technically you taught yourself how to play 'small town', not the guitar. you'll soon notice there's a pretty big difference in being able to play songs and being able to play the guitar.

It's an insane learning curve for guitar, but once you get over that hump, damn it's worth it...

I am 100% self-taught as well. :)

I never quite learn guitar playing with my teacher really, whenever something gets too detailed I loose focus so once he thought me the power chord well that was all I needed. I can play great guitar now. I have friends who are quite good and very much into the whole virtuoso thing and they say I'm really good and better than the majority of guitar players out there. :D What you realy have to so is feel the song, you can play anything you want if you get in the mood of the song. Why don't you try coming up with stuff of your own? I love doing that. I have millions of riffs!!!!! :evil:

U2democrat said:
I'm really determined to learn....I'm having trouble with chords. Any tips? (I played violin for about 5 years and so i'm fairly good with fingering)

Buy a book called Chord Chemistry.

It maps out every chord you could possibly build with your hand... and even more that aren't humanly possible.

Personally I would recommend lessons. A lot of people will tout the purity of the self-taught method, but honestly it takes just as much work either way.