what was your first job?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pepokiss

Rock n' Roll Doggie ALL ACCESS
and how old were you...

and WHY you started working?

a doubt I got last night... as I'm 22, still in college and had never worked (as in monthly/weekly payment) EVER

I'm still too young :wink:

paperboy, since i was 10 years old.

in driving rain, snow, cold wind...

kids nowadays. so spoiled. :tsk:

I started babysitting when I was 11, for neighborhood families and my younger cousins. I delivered two different newspapers and in high school, I babysat for various people 4-5 times a week (I had 15 families who called me). During the summers, I nannied full time (everyday, all day, bleh). In college I was a computer technician, a TA, and lab assistant. Combined, I worked about 20-30 hrs a week while school was on and then did the technician job full time (40+) over breaks and summer break.

Why did I start working? Because I wanted to go to movies, buy clothes, go out for dinners w/ friends and such and my parents would laugh in my face if I asked for spending money. In college, I worked to pay for books, food, rent, and utilities. In high school, I worked more in the summers for something to do, since everyone else worked too.

Started mowing lawns at age 12 or 13...

and then once I turned 16 got my first "real" job at a theme park.

and then from there I went into the adult film industry.

At 17, working part-time as a receptionist at this law office where my mom worked. It was only for the summer. I don't consider it my first "real" job because my mom was there; I wasn't on my own.

A few days after I graduated high school, I started working at a CD/DVD store. That I consider to be my first real job.