what makes a fan a fan?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Anu

Editor
Staff member
There ain't no place I'd rather be, baby won't you
When do you know you are a fan, not just an engaged and interested listener?

Besides U2, what other bands are you truly fans of?

(Warning: I am a writer and blogger and life is my research. Anything posted in this thread may inspire my future prose.)

I think you're a fan if you like more than one song of that band and have the desire to hear more by that band.

If you are determined to buy a new album the day that it is released, you are probably a fan of that band. There are maybe seven groups to whom I have that type of devotion.

Anu said:
When do you know you are a fan, not just an engaged and interested listener?

I think it's hard, if not impossible, to draw any kind of line. I don't believe any criteria should really be established, but I also don't buy the "if you like a few songs, you're a fan" argument. In many cases, people would be better considered fans of a song rather than fans of the actual band. For example, I know a guy who thinks Elevation and Vertigo are fantastic songs (yeah, I know :|), but he isn't interested in U2 otherwise and I don't think he could be considered a fan of the actual band at all.

I don't know if any hard and fast rule can be applied. For example, I consider myself a fan of both U2 and Cynic - however, I am highly active on Interference and I run a U2 setlist database, while I just enjoy listening to Cynic's sole album, Focus, and don't know much else about the band (except for bassist Sean Malone, who's in other bands I like such as Gordian Knot and OSI).

Besides U2, what other bands are you truly fans of?