what makes a fan a fan? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Old 01-08-2007, 04:58 PM   #1
Location: There ain't no place I'd rather be, baby won't you carry me back to Tennessee
Local Time: 12:35 PM
what makes a fan a fan?

When do you know you are a fan, not just an engaged and interested listener?

Besides U2, what other bands are you truly fans of?

(Warning: I am a writer and blogger and life is my research. Anything posted in this thread may inspire my future prose.)

Stand up to rock stars!
Old 01-08-2007, 05:02 PM   #2
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Local Time: 08:05 AM
You know you are a real fan because you buy ORIGINALS of cds

Old 01-08-2007, 05:04 PM   #3
Blue Crack Supplier
Local Time: 07:35 AM
I think you're a fan if you like more than one song of that band and have the desire to hear more by that band.
Old 01-08-2007, 05:13 PM   #4
If you are determined to buy a new album the day that it is released, you are probably a fan of that band. There are maybe seven groups to whom I have that type of devotion.
Old 01-08-2007, 05:43 PM   #5
Vocal parasite
Local Time: 11:35 PM
Re: what makes a fan a fan?

Originally posted by Anu
When do you know you are a fan, not just an engaged and interested listener?
I think it's hard, if not impossible, to draw any kind of line. I don't believe any criteria should really be established, but I also don't buy the "if you like a few songs, you're a fan" argument. In many cases, people would be better considered fans of a song rather than fans of the actual band. For example, I know a guy who thinks Elevation and Vertigo are fantastic songs (yeah, I know ), but he isn't interested in U2 otherwise and I don't think he could be considered a fan of the actual band at all.