The final "Daria"

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pax

ONE love, blood, life
I hardly ever watch MTV anymore, but I had it on tonight to catch the final episode of "Daria." Have to say I'm going to miss that show. When I was a sophomore and a junior in high school, I used to get home around 2:55 every day--just long enough to throw all my stuff in my room, pour a nice bowl of Cap'n Crunch, and settle down for my daily dose of Daria, Jane, Trent, et al.

I stopped watching it after a while; MTV would put it on at the most inopportune times, and I bought a few of the videos, anyway. But when I heard about the final Daria, I was rather saddened that the show is ending.

Why? Well, it's one of the last things MTV did that was even remotely edgy and anti-corporate. The main character, after all, was a girl who would not kiss ass. Period. To anyone. She didn't like makeup, didn't believe in fashion, and actually thought that your brains would get you somewhere. It was a show that dared to be a parody of itself at times, and made fun of a good ninety or ninety-five percent of the people who usually watch that network. Not to mention that it really helped me navigate high school.
wink.gif

Now as a college junior, I still laugh out loud watching it. Semper fi, Daria.

------------------
If you cannot live together in here, you cannot live together out there, let me tell ya. --Bono

You've got to cry without weeping, talk without speaking, scream without raising your voice... --Bono

That was about the worst show I've ever seen. I can't believe that they carried that for so many years and canceled Jackass after 3 seasons.