Switching to a Mac?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alia612

Refugee
i'm really interested in switching to a macintosh. i've been using windows xp home edition for three years, but os x is looking really appealing. the 'i hate macs' thread awhile ago made me start actually considering switching. but i have a couple questions.

1. should i wait for 'tiger' to come out? the dashboard feature looks excellent, but if it's not coming out for years, i don't want to wait that long.

2. the eMac looks really nice and affordable -- does anybody have one? how well does it work? i like the price but if it's crap i'd rather pay more.

3. how easy is it to switch from windows to mac? are there any specific problems many people have?

4. how would i go about getting my documents/applications/etc. onto another computer? this is a really dumb question, i know, but i've never done this before. :der:

5. when you download from the internet, is there an option to select which folder you send the individual file to? that is, i'll put .mp3s in a different folder than i would put .exes in -- can i do that before i start the download like i can on windows?

6. is there a program like 'notepad'? it's probably my most frequently used program, just for copying stuff down, etc. and i can't imagine not having something like it.

7. is there a good rss reader for macintosh? currently i use blogexpress and it works very well.

anyway, that might be it. thanks for any help!

i will try and help you out here being a diehard mac user.

1. tiger should be out in the spring of '05...at least that was its status last i heard. so if you can hold off until then you really don't have to wait too long.