So how do you capture stills from your DVD? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2003, 05:40 AM   #1
Acrobat
 
Another U2 nut!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 308
Local Time: 03:34 PM
So how do you capture stills from your DVD?

I have this new wiz bang computer with a DVD player- now how do I capture the stills? I'm still learning how to work all the new gadgets etc.
__________________

__________________
Another U2 nut! is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 02:23 PM   #2
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 09:34 PM
I'm going to move this one to Lemonade Stand so our wonderful computer smart members can answer this
__________________

__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 03:35 PM   #3
Acrobat
 
~fairy_girl~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: defying gravity
Posts: 488
Local Time: 05:34 AM
ooh i hope somebody does answer cos well, i would also like to know
__________________
~fairy_girl~ is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 03:39 PM   #4
Babyface
 
Rattle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Interference Land
Posts: 18
Local Time: 12:34 AM
I would love to know how to do this as well but haven't a clue
__________________
Rattle is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 03:52 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
meegannie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Norwich, England
Posts: 15,798
Local Time: 05:34 AM
What program are you using to play them?
__________________
meegannie is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 04:05 PM   #6
Acrobat
 
~fairy_girl~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: defying gravity
Posts: 488
Local Time: 05:34 AM
on this PC its 'windvd'

on my laptop is some other program, its a toshiba laptop
__________________
~fairy_girl~ is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 04:25 PM   #7
Blue Crack Distributor
 
Headache in a Suitcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Stateless
Posts: 56,443
Local Time: 12:34 AM
i use the print screen button... hitting "print screen" puts whatever you have on your screen into the clipboard. you can then go to a picture editing program and paste the contents of the clipboard into a new file. that's how i do it... might be an easier way... but i don't know any other way without having an actuall program that does it
__________________
Headache in a Suitcase is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 04:45 PM   #8
An Angel In Devil's Shoes
 
ABEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 18,844
Local Time: 11:34 PM
how can you capture stills from a regular DVD player that's attached to your TV? what would you need to connect it to your computer...if it is even possible, that is


i can't play dvd's on my computer
__________________
ABEL is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 05:23 PM   #9
ONE
love, blood, life
 
yertle-the-turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: York, UK and Singapore
Posts: 11,750
Local Time: 01:34 PM
Most of the time I use print screen too. That takes an image of your screen and you can paste it into something like Paint for your own use (or you can use alt+printscreen to get a snapshot of just the one window rather than the whole screen). Alternatively, you can search at download.com for screen capturing software. This is more useful if you're looking to get more than one capture as pressing printscreen only holds one image at a time (I think) on your clipboard.

Abel, I have no idea how to capture pictures on your regular TV, but I think other than taking a close photograph using a regular camera, you've got to hook it up to your PC (or Mac, as it may very well be ) somehow.
__________________
yertle-the-turtle is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 10:34 PM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 04:34 PM
i use power dvd, just press the little camrea (or C) and you take caps of the dvd
__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 11:26 PM   #11
arw
Blue Crack Addict
 
arw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: walking around 10,000 lakes
Posts: 27,320
Local Time: 12:34 AM
you should check to see what the dvd software on your computer says about this to make sure you can do any of the above suggestions at all.

I bought a nice new fancy computer last year that came with tons of programs. Only problem is they are all the basic version and I need to pay to upgrade. My dvd player on my computer will not do screen captures unless I spend $40.00 to "unlock the special features."
__________________
arw is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 11:42 PM   #12
Refugee
 
jesseu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 1,984
Local Time: 01:34 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by bono_man2002
i use power dvd, just press the little camrea (or C) and you take caps of the dvd
I use this as well. great program.
__________________
jesseu2 is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 05:14 AM   #13
Acrobat
 
~fairy_girl~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: defying gravity
Posts: 488
Local Time: 05:34 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by bono_man2002
i use power dvd, just press the little camrea (or C) and you take caps of the dvd
AHA this is the program on my laptop, i never knew about the camera have tried it and it works!

thanks for the info
__________________
~fairy_girl~ is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 07:34 AM   #14
Acrobat
 
Another U2 nut!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 308
Local Time: 03:34 PM
Oooh so many things to try- I haven't even had time to play a DVD in it yet! My bro hogs the computer for his divex, and when I've got it, I'm here, or Ebay
__________________

__________________
Another U2 nut! is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com