site hassles - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 01:28 PM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
verte76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hoping for changes
Posts: 23,331
Local Time: 11:25 PM
crys site hassles

I'm having trouble uploading my pic files from the CD-ROM to my site. We put them on the CD-ROM, and then I save them, and then Geocities won't upload them because they are files "with no extension". I don't know what the hell this means. I have never found doing this site particularly easy, but now I just hope it's not Mission Impossible.
__________________

__________________
verte76 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:32 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
verte76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hoping for changes
Posts: 23,331
Local Time: 11:25 PM
Of course I can always fool with this tomorrow when I'm not a nervous wreck because the show is only two hours away.
__________________

__________________
verte76 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:37 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
U2democrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England by way of 'Murica.
Posts: 22,140
Local Time: 11:25 PM
i have NO idea..................... verte!
__________________
U2democrat is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:47 PM   #4
Refugee
 
stammer476's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,058
Local Time: 08:25 AM
My best guess, verte, is that somehow in the CD-ROM to PC (or vice versa) the images lost their file extension names. For images, these are typically .jpeg, .jpg. .tiff, .bmp, & .gif

On each image, right-click on "properties" and see what is says under "type of file." If it says JPEG, manually type in .jpg at the end of each file name. For TIFF, type .tiff. For BITMAP, .bmp. And for GIF, type .gif.

Hope that helps!
__________________
stammer476 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:51 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
verte76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hoping for changes
Posts: 23,331
Local Time: 11:25 PM
I think I'll try to get through the show first then see what I can do with these files later on. This is tough. Whew!
__________________
verte76 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 02:01 PM   #6
Refugee
 
stammer476's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,058
Local Time: 08:25 AM
Good luck!!!
__________________
stammer476 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 05:15 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 06:25 PM
I've had problems in the past going from a server/network drive to CD-ROM. If the devices don't copy at the same rate, it won't work. I'm not sure if it's the same problem backwards, but at work I can't burn a CD from data on my website without copying it to the hard drive first.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 05:47 PM   #8
Blue Crack Addict
 
verte76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hoping for changes
Posts: 23,331
Local Time: 11:25 PM
I managed to figure out how to transfer the files from the CD drive to my hard disk. It wasn't that hard once I got to thinking straight. I don't always do this and this I screw everything up for obvious reasons. I don't actually have the pix on the site, but that's OK, they're on my disk and all I have to do is upload. I don't find this a cakewalk on Geocities, but what the heck, I've done it eight times and it won't kill me to do four more.
__________________
verte76 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 10:02 PM   #9
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 06:25 PM
I despise Geocities so much I'd make your website for you!!! Before I had my own webspace, I used Angelfire and they were OK (you used to get 50 MB of space per account, but now they changed that).
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 07:05 AM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
verte76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hoping for changes
Posts: 23,331
Local Time: 11:25 PM
I'm not crazy about either one of my hosting services, Geocities or Tripod. But, I like Trellix, which Tripod uses, because you can be an HTML klutz and still have a site. I wasn't able to use Tripod for my art site because of issues with images. So I used Geocities. Geocities was OK before Yahoo got it. They screwed it up.
__________________

__________________
verte76 is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com