RAM question - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2002, 12:41 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
elevatedmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On a backwards river
Posts: 3,546
Local Time: 12:23 PM
RAM question

Can anyone tell me how to check how much RAM I have available? I know how to check about how much space left on each drive and such, but not RAM.

thanks
__________________

__________________
elevatedmole is offline  
Old 06-04-2002, 12:48 PM   #2
Refugee
 
u2er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,415
Local Time: 12:23 PM

Control Panel, System, Hardware Profiles (I THINK! )
I think you can find it somewhere in there, depending on what Windows you have (if you have Windows..) I have XP, so I'm not sure it's the same on 98. On XP, you do Control Panel, Performance/Maintenance, System, and should find it somewhere in there.
Hope this helps, even though it's likely it didn't
__________________

__________________
u2er is offline  
Old 06-04-2002, 12:55 PM   #3
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
elevatedmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On a backwards river
Posts: 3,546
Local Time: 12:23 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by u2er
Control Panel, System, Hardware Profiles (I THINK! )
I think you can find it somewhere in there, depending on what Windows you have (if you have Windows..) I have XP, so I'm not sure it's the same on 98. On XP, you do Control Panel, Performance/Maintenance, System, and should find it somewhere in there.
Hope this helps, even though it's likely it didn't
Well, I DID find what you were talking about.. only problem: it just says how much RAM I have total, not available. Argh.
__________________
elevatedmole is offline  
Old 06-04-2002, 01:15 PM   #4
Refugee
 
u2er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,415
Local Time: 12:23 PM
Isn't there a pie chart or something to tell you how much?
__________________
u2er is offline  
Old 06-04-2002, 01:19 PM   #5
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ghetofabu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Kitchen
Posts: 4,038
Local Time: 11:23 AM

What is your OS?
__________________
ghetofabu is offline  
Old 06-04-2002, 01:29 PM   #6
Acrobat
 
cloudimani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 483
Local Time: 05:23 PM

depending on what version of windows you have this is in different places.

Windows 2000 (& other NT-based systems I presume)
do ctrl-alt-del and choose task manager and select the performance tab, this gives cpu and memory usage levels (you can also get to this by right-clicking on the tasbar and selecting task manager)

Windows 95 & variants (98, ME)
This isnt included on task manager, but you can find the same info from Start>Programs>Accessories>System Tools>Resource Meter (I think) - if you cant find that you will need to install it from your windows cd, go to Control Panel>Add/Rem. Programs - Windows Setup Tab, and its under accessories again.

Norton Utilities and similar utils packages also give you more of these kind of meters.
Its debatable whether memory usage can actually give you useful info, as there's a school of though that says free RAM is wasted RAM, so if you have loads of free RAM your computer might not run quicker than if you have very little. this is different from system Resources which does have an impact on your computer's performance.

Hope that helps, knowing me, it probably just confused you more
__________________
cloudimani is offline  
Old 06-04-2002, 01:34 PM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ghetofabu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Kitchen
Posts: 4,038
Local Time: 11:23 AM

I was being lazy cuz I did not want to write it all out, that is why I asked, but the non lazy person was nice enough to write it all out.
__________________
ghetofabu is offline  
Old 06-04-2002, 02:17 PM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
elevatedmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On a backwards river
Posts: 3,546
Local Time: 12:23 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by cloudimani
depending on what version of windows you have this is in different places.

Windows 2000 (& other NT-based systems I presume)
do ctrl-alt-del and choose task manager and select the performance tab, this gives cpu and memory usage levels (you can also get to this by right-clicking on the tasbar and selecting task manager)

Windows 95 & variants (98, ME)
This isnt included on task manager, but you can find the same info from Start>Programs>Accessories>System Tools>Resource Meter (I think) - if you cant find that you will need to install it from your windows cd, go to Control Panel>Add/Rem. Programs - Windows Setup Tab, and its under accessories again.

Norton Utilities and similar utils packages also give you more of these kind of meters.
Its debatable whether memory usage can actually give you useful info, as there's a school of though that says free RAM is wasted RAM, so if you have loads of free RAM your computer might not run quicker than if you have very little. this is different from system Resources which does have an impact on your computer's performance.

Hope that helps, knowing me, it probably just confused you more
Thanks Cloudimani. It all worked fine and I found it -- only problem: it lists how much is left of System Resources, User Resources, and GDI Resources. I am somewhat computer illiterate (at least in some areas) but is there anything I'm missing? I don't see anything about RAM. Agh. I need to take computer classes.
__________________
elevatedmole is offline  
Old 06-04-2002, 02:37 PM   #9
Acrobat
 
cloudimani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 483
Local Time: 05:23 PM

er its been a little while since I've used those windows versions, I think there's another program in the same place called System Monitor has more information on CPU load Mem usage that kind of thing.

Guessing here really, but i'm pretty sure one of them shows Memory.
As I said though, the resource meters might actually be a little more meanigful...

To the best of my knowledge here's what the meters mean, though usually if one is low, they're all pretty low...
System Resources - basically what it says, what resources the operating system has available, usually to run programs etc.
User Resources - the amount of resources available to the user, more for things like your data, than the actual programs
GDI Stands for Graphical Display Interface to the best of my knowledge, so this is the amount of resources available to render the image on the screen properly, you might have seen sometimes when you have a lot of program open that some programs dont look quite right, could be a lack of GDI resources.

Hope this helps in some way, probably someone will come in and tell me I'm quite hopelessly wrong, but oh well
__________________

__________________
cloudimani is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com