Please reomend some CLASSICAL music for me.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

OzAurora

Refugee
The Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
I really do like classical music, but basically it is a genre that I am not that familiar with. I have to say that the only piece that I am familiar with is Beethoven's #5 symphony. I would like to get some more, so can anyone list some of the essential classical works that an amateur fan should have:)

Classical music is just as varied as popular music. Theres operas, ballets, orchestral, etc. There will be some you like, some you hate and some in between.

I studied ballet for 16 years so tchaikovsky "The Nutcracker", and "Swan Lake" are up there as favourites of mine.

Rimsky-Korsakov "Flight of the Bumble Bee" - again another Russian

Brahms "Hungarian Dances" - German

Prokofiev "Peter and the Wolf" - although written for children is still a good intro. Again Russian.

Rachmaninov?s "3rd Concerto". This was the piece of music that Ben Mendelsson ? or that other actor who always reminds me of Ben, tackled in the movie Shine. - umm, another Russian.

Umm, Im a bit lopsided in that I prefer the more dramatic and some times military Russian/German music. Im not really into Beethoven or most of the operas. But Im sure someone else can help you there.

You have probably heard Ravels "Bolero" and not realised it. - French.

And that opera they always play in horror movies - the name escapes me at the moment.

As for modern orchestral music, Im a big fan of the soundtrack to Bram Strokers Dracula by Wojciech Kilar - Poland. Again losts of strings and drums and DRAMA, baby :up:

Remember the days of Torville and Dean, Oz? They got their perfect 10 from Bolero.
:drool:

Carmina Burana is the music playing in the slow motion scene in Jackass where they are riding the shopping cart down the road.