People good with computers/internet...please help! - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2004, 02:40 PM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
U2democrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England by way of 'Murica.
Posts: 22,140
Local Time: 05:35 PM
People good with computers/internet...please help!

Here's my problem:
We were recently hooked up to comcast wireless internet, which is great BUT
On my laptop my connection gets cut off every three minutes! a little bubble pops up and says "more than one wireless network available click here for details" and when that comes up my connection is cut off. I believe my neighbor's wireless internet is interfering and that could be why...does anyone have any clue how to fix this? Or should i just go to a computer place to fix it...
__________________

__________________
U2democrat is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 02:59 PM   #2
BAW
The Flower
 
BAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The OC....!!!!
Posts: 11,094
Local Time: 09:35 AM
That exact same thing happens to me ALL the time. I don't know what causes it other than what you said, interference from someone else's wireless connection but I usually do one of three things:

Restart my computer, which resets my wireless connection

Go into control panel, open the "network connection" tab and enable the correct connection (for some reason, it becomes disabled when the other signal interferes)

Shut off my laptop in disgust and go upstairs to my PC, which has a direct connect to the high speed modem
__________________

__________________
BAW is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 03:01 PM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
U2democrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England by way of 'Murica.
Posts: 22,140
Local Time: 05:35 PM
wow i'm glad i'm not the only one with this problem. it's so annoying! My PC works just fine as well. I wonder if my neighbor also has this problem with mine interfering with his.....
__________________
U2democrat is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 04:51 PM   #4
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 12:35 PM
Windows XP users should download Service Pack 2, which has vastly improved wireless networking capabilities. Of course, then that opens a whole other can of worms, in itself. However, I'm running XP SP2 right now on a wireless connection.

Short fix that has usually worked for me, though: set your "preferred" network and let it connect automatically. Shut down the computer and turn it back on.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 07:03 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
U2democrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England by way of 'Murica.
Posts: 22,140
Local Time: 05:35 PM
I have it set as my preferred network, yet it still screws up. Oh well.
__________________
U2democrat is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 01:25 AM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 12:35 PM
I have no experience with wireless as I've never used it, but I've seen computers get confused when they move between multiple network connections (like DSL at home and then the network on campus). Usually, we right click on the connection and do a Repair so that the computer has to release/renew its IP address. I have no idea if this is even an option for wireless though, but with "wired" computers it often prevents having to restart.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 03:44 AM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
DrTeeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Q continuum
Posts: 4,770
Local Time: 06:35 PM
Is XP SP2 already available for download? It doesn't show when I run windows update.
__________________
DrTeeth is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 05:08 PM   #8
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 12:35 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by DrTeeth
Is XP SP2 already available for download? It doesn't show when I run windows update.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

If you can download a 272 MB file, then here it is.

Melon
__________________

__________________
melon is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com