PC troubles - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2004, 06:45 AM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 01:32 AM
PC troubles

i recently got an error on windows Xp...restarted the comptuer...got the error ...and had to format the drive...no big deal...

BUT
now i cant reinstall windows X!!
it formats fine, but then when it starts installing it says Windows\Config cannot be written....

so i think maybe my hard drive is dead, or i have faulty memory...so now i'm stuck on the laptop, or as i like to call it the CRAPTOP
back on windows 95
__________________

__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 07:42 AM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 01:32 AM
all seems to be working properley again....

for how long...who knows
__________________

__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 10:12 AM   #3
you are what you is
 
Salome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 22,016
Local Time: 03:32 PM
do you have a COMPAQ???

because I'm blaming COMPAQ!!!


yesh
__________________
“Some scientists claim that hydrogen, because it is so plentiful, is the basic building block of the universe. I dispute that. I say there is more stupidity than hydrogen, and that is the basic building block of the universe.”
~Frank Zappa
Salome is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 10:38 AM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
cell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Disneyland
Posts: 5,901
Local Time: 07:32 AM
my compaq works great

*knock on wood*
__________________
cell is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:37 PM   #5
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 01:32 AM
no its not a compaq....its got all diffrent brands for hardware
__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 08:34 PM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 01:32 AM
ok, instead of starting a whole new thread....

i need some more help

i brought a new 160 GB hard drive....sent it to my friend who put the complete U2bloodredsky.com catalouge on it for me...
got the hard drive..
placed it in as slave drive

started up computer....went into my computer, clicked on the new drive...and it asks me to format the drive???

i then notice during start up that the computer recogizes the drive as 136 GB...when it should be atleast 150 GB

i've purchased a Proise Ultra 100 TXT ATA Controller Card.....will that do the trick?

thanks for any help
__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 01:30 AM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
elevation2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: corner of Badlands & Magnolia Mountain
Posts: 5,371
Local Time: 06:32 AM
hehehe, years after i am still trying to figure out why everyone hates Macs..... i have yet to have any problems with my 3 year old mac
__________________
elevation2u is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 08:44 PM   #8
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,609
Local Time: 08:32 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by elevation2u
hehehe, years after i am still trying to figure out why everyone hates Macs..... i have yet to have any problems with my 3 year old mac
why do you think i'm gonna get an imac in a couple years when my current pc becomes outdated?
__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 02:17 AM   #9
Refugee
 
daafish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose
Posts: 2,176
Local Time: 07:32 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by bono_man2002
ok, instead of starting a whole new thread....

i need some more help

i brought a new 160 GB hard drive....sent it to my friend who put the complete U2bloodredsky.com catalouge on it for me...
got the hard drive..
placed it in as slave drive

started up computer....went into my computer, clicked on the new drive...and it asks me to format the drive???

i then notice during start up that the computer recogizes the drive as 136 GB...when it should be atleast 150 GB

i've purchased a Proise Ultra 100 TXT ATA Controller Card.....will that do the trick?

thanks for any help
You should probably check the manufacturer of the motherboard to see if the BIOS will handle the windows XP and the hard drive. Check for any BIOS updates. It just sounds like the BIOS is miss reporting your hard drives actual space (or are you running windows 95?). What was the hard drive formatted as when you got it from your friend?

By the way, what was the original error you were getting?
__________________
daafish is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 06:33 PM   #10
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 09:32 AM
How old is your computer? Newer ones should have 48-bit LBA, which will allow partitions larger than 137 GB. Also check with your computer manufacturer, or, if you built it on your own, your motherboard manufacturer. There may be BIOS updates that add 48-bit LBA recognition. Also, ensure that your Windows XP disc is included with Service Pack 1, because otherwise, you won't get automatic recognition of a partition larger than 137 GB.

So, it is a matter of getting:

1) The correct motherboard BIOS, *and*

2) The correct Windows version (Windows XP *with* Service Pack 1)

It's a large pain in the ass. The alternative is to format the drive into two partitions, with neither partition greater than 137 GB.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 08:58 PM   #11
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 01:32 AM
thanks for the help....


my computer was built in 2001....and i've checked for updates for the motherboard, and the last updates were back in 2001....so i doubt thats any help to me

Quote:
By the way, what was the original error you were getting?
yes it was, execpt orgainlly i was able to get into view the drive...but all the media was unacessable...for exaple i clicked on U2 Mp3's....and there was nothing in the folder...when i clicked on U2 VCD's...it said this folder is unacessable...

the 160 GB hard drive was formatted on NTFS, same with my other hard drive.
and i am running XP
__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 06:46 AM   #12
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 09:32 AM
It is still possible that you have 48-bit LBA, as I think it was around in 2001. But you'd have to contact the manufacturer.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 01-17-2004, 02:44 AM   #13
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 01:32 AM
well i orded the controller last tuesday....and it should be here first thing on monday....

do you guys think that it will do the trick?
__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
Old 01-17-2004, 05:53 AM   #14
Blue Crack Addict
 
beli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In a frock in Western Australia
Posts: 15,464
Local Time: 10:32 PM
(Very silly and not remotely helpful response)

Perhaps this is the problem:

http://www.ananova.com/news/story/sm...d.strangecrime
__________________
beli is offline  
Old 01-17-2004, 07:14 PM   #15
Blue Crack Addict
 
bono_man2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the wrong band
Posts: 28,357
Local Time: 01:32 AM
dont you have pataotes in yours?
i'm running 128 SPUD, forrget get that RAM crap
__________________

__________________
bono_man2002 is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com