MERGED ---> Wireless question... + Wireless networking questions - Page 2 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 02:15 AM   #16
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
For Honor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 5,278
Local Time: 09:34 PM
I'm a wireless rookie, but I actually know what y'all's talking about, so I feel pretty good right now.


How do you prevent someone else from using your network? not that I really care, but in case I need to.

Like I've seen the whole thing where you set up a profile and pick different settings, but..... ....... I don't get the finer points quite yet
__________________

__________________
For Honor is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:20 AM   #17
Paper Gods
Forum Administrator
 
KhanadaRhodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: a vampire in the limousine
Posts: 60,609
Local Time: 08:34 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by For Honor
How do you prevent someone else from using your network? not that I really care, but in case I need to.
you set a password for the network.
__________________

__________________
KhanadaRhodes is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:31 AM   #18
New Yorker
 
AvsGirl41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 2,948
Local Time: 07:34 PM
Mine's named Forrest, after my dog. All of my neighbors have theirs encrypted. The only interesting one is named "langfish."

Trying to set up my wireless was a blast. Comcast referred me to Toshiba, who referred me to Comcast, who referred me to Toshiba who....
__________________
AvsGirl41 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:10 PM   #19
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 09:34 PM
When I lived in Boston, I was one of those neighbors who shoved on the highest encryption rate and turned off SSID broadcasting, so no one could even find my network.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:13 PM   #20
War Child
 
Dulce de Leche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 986
Local Time: 03:34 AM
smart

Yeah, I say if you're not going to set a password or whatever, you have no right to care/complain that others are using it.
__________________
Dulce de Leche is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 05:48 PM   #21
Rock n' Roll Doggie
FOB
 
WildHoneyAlways's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In a glass case of emotion
Posts: 8,158
Local Time: 08:34 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Dulce de Leche
There are tons around me!

Me too.
No one has a fun name though.
__________________
WildHoneyAlways is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 06:18 PM   #22
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
DrTeeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Q continuum
Posts: 4,770
Local Time: 03:34 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by melon
When I lived in Boston, I was one of those neighbors who shoved on the highest encryption rate and turned off SSID broadcasting, so no one could even find my network.

Melon
Same here, I can't even find ours sometimes.
__________________
DrTeeth is online now  
Old 11-27-2005, 10:37 PM   #23
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:34 PM
We're the smiley-face network, SSID :-), but we have a WEP key

When SBC took two weeks to re-start our new internet service, we had to use the 'mantis' network (who is smart enough to change their SSID, but not turn off broadcasting or turn on encryption?) which sucks b/c I can only get on if I sit on the floor next to my turtle tank.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 01:30 PM   #24
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 09:34 PM
A lot of routers don't have the capability to turn off the SSID. When I shopped around for one, though, that was one of the features I wanted specifically.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 01:37 PM   #25
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 09:34 PM
Well the neighbors are unreliable for me to leech off of, but next week my roommate gets her DSL transferred and I don't know if I'll even bother to go the extra mile for wireless. I can just get a really long cord and plug in somewhere.
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:16 AM   #26
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 09:34 PM
Wireless networking questions

Ok, so my roommate has her DSL up and running and now I really want to do the wireless thing. Am I going to have to install the software they provided her on my laptop? Can I just rig it up so that won't matter and I'll get my happy signal and be on my way? I've never done this so give me the details!
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:55 PM   #27
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:34 PM
Did she install a wireless router w/ her DSL? I know Comcast cable internet will install and setup your wireless network. I'm not sure how other DSL services work though. With my SBC, I bought my own wireless router and set it all up. You don't need any software.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 08:55 AM   #28
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 09:34 PM
I was hoping to be able to just do the same as you. I don't think she did, but I could probably figure it out. Are those things expensive to set up?
__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 04:47 PM   #29
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 09:34 PM
No, not really. My router was $65 and then I got $15 and $25 back in rebates. You also need a wireless card on your computer. My laptop's card was $20.

The nice thing is that w/ the wireless routers, you still get 4 wired ports. In our house, one girl uses a desktop so she can still connect that way. Actually, I always use a wired connection unless I'm out of reach of the cord. The wired connection seems to be a bit faster and more consistent, but that all depends on the quality of your wireless router and wireless card (I bought a well known brand, but the cheap models).

If you want to plug into your roommate's wired DSL, you shouldn't need the software as long as the router is configured for more than one computer (which it would be unless she did something weird to it on her own). If you have Windows 2000 or XP, you just plug it in at it should automatically create a Local Area Connection and pull an IP address.

Is this helping at all? If you've got a wireless router already, PM me...
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:16 PM   #30
I Serve Larry's Stick
 
clarityat3am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 2,996
Local Time: 09:34 PM
That makes sense to me now, but I'm not at home trying to figure it out yet. lol I have to buy a router and hopefully I can do that next week. I imagine I'll be completely wireless. I know on my laptop it has options to set up wireless and lan connections. I'll PM you when I get the goods.
__________________

__________________
clarityat3am is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com