Looking for opinions about a potential eventual mass purchase of CDs...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

namkcuR

ONE love, blood, life
I have a collection of probably 220-ish albums.

Roughly 120 or so are 'real', store-brought albums.

About 55 are 'free' downloaded albums.

The rest are burned albums that were copied from 'real' copies belonging to my friends or my parents.

I'm still a college student, so I have no money. I haven't made up my mind whether or not I'm ever going to buy all the albums I downloaded(when I have money, that is, don't know when that will be), but I've certainly been thinking about it recently.

But for shits and giggles, I made a list of the 55 downloaded albums, went to amazon.com, and went down the list, adding the cheapest used copy of each album to my cart, just to see how much it would cost to 'legitimize' that chunk of my collection(By the way, a lot of these used records on the Amazon marketplace are C-H-E-A-P - you can get records in 'very good' condition for less than a buck sometimes, usually no more than five bucks at most). It came out to roughly $270 without shipping. Amazon doesn't show you the total shipping costs unless you go all the way to the last page before confirming, and I'm not actually buying now, so quickly doing the math in my head, at $1-3 shipping per album, plus the $270 base, it would come to anywhere between $370-$420. That's not exactly a small amount of money, but it's not exactly that large of an amount of money either.

However...

It's not like I'd be giving any money to any artist or record label - I'd just be giving money to various used record shops or even individuals across the country(because I'd be buying them all used in this hypothetical - if I were to buy them new, the figures would be waaaaay higher).