Learning an instrument

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WCF

The Fly
Anyone else here learning or already know how to play an instrument?

I just picked up bass a couple days ago. Left-handed Ibanez GSR200 if anyone wants to know. I'm going to try to self-teach myself, maybe with some help from friends here and there. Hopefully I'll get it within the next couple months.

What do you guys play? How long did it take you to really "get it" and how did you learn? Any advice for me?

I ve been playing piano for the last 20 years.

Advice no.1: never force yourself to play - just play when you like.

Advice no.2: put on your favourite records and learn some songs listening to the bass line on there

I've been playing Guitar since the start of 2004.

I had about 6-8 lessons before I got sick of learning simple stuff, and decided I'd just teach myself.

(And Thanks To The Internet)....I think I've taught myself thorough Guitar Tabs, and stuff to be a reasonable guitar player.

I guess I could probably read sheet music better if I'd continued with the lessons, but now I can play the odd song from my favorite bands at the moment (Muse & The White Stripes)

I'm really starting to get into buying effects and stuff (I have a crappy muli-effect pedal and a brand spanking new Digitech Whammy....it is the shit!)

If you find something that makes you go "oh thats just way to damn hard"...best way to learn it is to go step-by-step, player it slow and gradually you'll pick it up and be able to play it at normal pace.

Basically practice makes perfect (and i'm still far from perfect)

I've played the piano most of my life. I'm rusty now, but can still sit down and sight-read when the need arises.

I played French horn in high school.

My other instrument, I carry with me wherever I go. I sing! That counts as an instrument, right? :wink: