Laptops

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liesje

Blue Crack Addict
I know this is ironic since I make my living fixing computers and other info/tech equipment, but since I do it for an academic institution, I have no experience buying or selling. Right now I have a desktop system that I'm selling to my boyfriend's parents b/c I want a laptop. I need to know where the best and/or cheapest place to get a laptop will be. I've been looking into eBay or overstock.com. Anyone have any experience purchasing from either? Basically, I want a newer model for Windows OS (preferably Dell or HP) with Windows XP, 40GB hard drive or bigger, 256MB RAM or more, and a better processor (currently have AMD Athalon 1.67 GHz). Is it safe to buy online or from eBay? Or should I just go to a computer store and pay more?

:scratch:

I wouldn't trust ebay for a computer - buying online from a computer manufacturer would be safer. Check CNET or other online guide for reviews.

I prefer putting my hands on a laptop before buying it. If you know the model you want, test it out at a local store. Laptops can feel very different brand to brand. I'd always go with a Sony or Toshiba, though.

Go with Dell. Get the 3 or 4 year warranty.
I have 3 Dell laptops...the most recent being the 300m. They have less expensive models that are great buys.
Just trashed my 18 month old piece of shit Gateway because the motherboard melted. Will never make that mistake again.

:|

dell :barf:

my dell laptop has broken in evvvvvery which way, you name it, it has broken. and i bought one of the top of the line models too, if i had to do it again i wouldnt order from dell, but maybe i was just unlucky

Last edited: