Int'l calling help - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2005, 03:00 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
AngelofHarlem01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Feeling the sunlight on my face.
Posts: 3,214
Local Time: 04:34 AM
Int'l calling help

I'm officially stumped. I have a Tracfone pay as you go phone. The other day I bought some international calling minutes so I could talk to my boyfriend in the UK with it. When I dial the service number, than input his number, it tells me his number is invalid. The number is correct. I dialed the country code 44, followed by the number. The only thing i can think of is that I'm screwing up the country code somehow? Do you have to put a 0 in front of it or something? I don't understand why it's not working. Any ideas or advice?


Ali
__________________

__________________
AngelofHarlem01 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:12 PM   #2
ONE
love, blood, life
 
indra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12,689
Local Time: 06:34 AM
Re: Int'l calling help

Quote:
Originally posted by AngelofHarlem01
I'm officially stumped. I have a Tracfone pay as you go phone. The other day I bought some international calling minutes so I could talk to my boyfriend in the UK with it. When I dial the service number, than input his number, it tells me his number is invalid. The number is correct. I dialed the country code 44, followed by the number. The only thing i can think of is that I'm screwing up the country code somehow? Do you have to put a 0 in front of it or something? I don't understand why it's not working. Any ideas or advice?


Ali
Have you dialed the international access code number? 011? Does his number have a city code?
__________________

__________________
indra is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:20 PM   #3
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
AngelofHarlem01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Feeling the sunlight on my face.
Posts: 3,214
Local Time: 04:34 AM
No do you need to put 011 before the country code? And yeah the number has his city code in it.
__________________
AngelofHarlem01 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:44 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
AngelofHarlem01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Feeling the sunlight on my face.
Posts: 3,214
Local Time: 04:34 AM
Ok so i tried the 001 with it and it still didn't work. Then i read somewhere to try 00 before the number and the damn service hung up on me lol.
__________________
AngelofHarlem01 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:50 PM   #5
ONE
love, blood, life
 
indra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12,689
Local Time: 06:34 AM
Ok. when I dial overseas (granted I only call one number ), I dial 011, then country code, then city code (if any), then the person's number. So far it's always worked.

If it still doesn't work I would look for a customer service number for your tracfone. Could be that something just isn't set up correctly.
__________________
indra is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:56 PM   #6
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 05:34 AM
First off, do you live in the U.S.? That will make my question a bit easier. Secondly, are you calling a UK landline or a UK cell phone? Third, what town/city does he live in?

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 03:58 PM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
AngelofHarlem01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Feeling the sunlight on my face.
Posts: 3,214
Local Time: 04:34 AM
Ok Thanks indra i appreciate all your help
__________________
AngelofHarlem01 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 04:01 PM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
AngelofHarlem01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Feeling the sunlight on my face.
Posts: 3,214
Local Time: 04:34 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by melon
First off, do you live in the U.S.? That will make my question a bit easier. Secondly, are you calling a UK landline or a UK cell phone? Third, what town/city does he live in?

Melon
Yep I'm in the U.S. The number's for his cell phone. And he lives just outside of Edinburgh.
__________________
AngelofHarlem01 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 05:22 PM   #9
Blue Crack Addict
 
meegannie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Norwich, England
Posts: 15,798
Local Time: 10:34 AM
To phone the UK from the US, you need to dial 011 44 then the number, but DON'T dial the first 0 in the number. For example, if your boyfriend's number is 01234 56 78 90, you dial 011 44 1234 56 78 90.
__________________
meegannie is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 05:47 PM   #10
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
AngelofHarlem01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Feeling the sunlight on my face.
Posts: 3,214
Local Time: 04:34 AM
Thanks Meegannie i'll give that a try.
__________________
AngelofHarlem01 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 05:55 PM   #11
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
AngelofHarlem01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Feeling the sunlight on my face.
Posts: 3,214
Local Time: 04:34 AM
Yaay it worked!!! Thank you sooooooo sooooooo much
__________________
AngelofHarlem01 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 08:40 AM   #12
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
hiphop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: in the jungle
Posts: 7,410
Local Time: 12:34 PM
yeah its a bit complicated. when you call to UK, from US it will be 01144 whereas from, say, moscow, it will be 0044, for some countries 00144. so thats why one always writes +44 etc. the + indicates the number before, depending where you are.

if you call your bf from london, you will have to dial the city code with the zero. if you call from another country, you have to leave the city code´s zero out. same for my country.. i always write +43-1-xxxxxxx. from another city in my country or from a national mobile it would be 01-xxxxxxx.
__________________
hiphop is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 11:17 AM   #13
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
AngelofHarlem01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Feeling the sunlight on my face.
Posts: 3,214
Local Time: 04:34 AM
sooo many numbers to remember.. I think in total i had to dial 27 in order to call him. quite complicated indeed. I appreciate all the information though it helped sort it out a lot
__________________

__________________
AngelofHarlem01 is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com