Internet Explorer security flaw - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2004, 07:19 PM   #1
Blue Crack Addict
 
meegannie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Norwich, England
Posts: 15,798
Local Time: 10:24 PM
Internet Explorer security flaw

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/3840101.stm

Users are being told to avoid using Internet Explorer until Microsoft patches a serious security hole in it.
The loophole is being exploited to open a backdoor on a PC that could let criminals take control of a machine.

The threat of infection is so high because the code created to exploit the loophole has somehow been placed on many popular websites.

Experts say the list of compromised sites involves banks, auction and price comparison firms and is growing fast.

__________________

__________________
meegannie is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 07:23 PM   #2
Blue Crack Supplier
 
Popmartijn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 32,543
Local Time: 11:24 PM
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/releases/

This will get you rid of (most) security flaws, improve your browsing experience and block those annoying pop-ups (of course you can select the sites you do want to give you pop-ups).

Try it!



Marty

edit: This release is also called One Tree Hill, so you have the added advantage of using an inspired-by-U2 browser.
__________________

__________________
Popmartijn is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 09:21 AM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:24 PM
People, for the 39857844th time, USE MOZILLA/FIREFOX. Trust me, you will never switch back to IE.
__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 10:59 AM   #4
New Yorker
 
DiGi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: the mountains of southwest VA
Posts: 2,818
Local Time: 06:24 PM
Moz rules
__________________
DiGi is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:01 PM   #5
pax
ONE
love, blood, life
 
pax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ewen's new American home
Posts: 11,412
Local Time: 06:24 PM
I can't believe there's no patch yet!
__________________
and you hunger for the time
time to heal, desire, time


Join Amnesty.
pax is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:11 PM   #6
An Angel In Devil's Shoes
 
ABEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 18,844
Local Time: 04:24 PM
i know whenever i try to use IE i get popups or warnings for trojans and all kinds of crap happens with my computer like locking up. (i have milliennium edition not XP)

when i use mozilla i hardly have any problems

i've gotten to the point where i hardly like to use IE at all except when i have to because certain sites require it
__________________
ABEL is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 02:30 PM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
RockNRollDawgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 3,307
Local Time: 05:24 PM
Yep.....I know. I got a worm from IE days ago.
Think I'll check out Mozillla
__________________
RockNRollDawgie is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 05:05 PM   #8
Refugee
 
Justified's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: living with MVD
Posts: 1,629
Local Time: 06:24 PM
Mozilla
__________________
Justified is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 12:14 AM   #9
Offishul Kitteh Doctor
Forum Moderator
 
bonosloveslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Taking care of kitties
Posts: 9,655
Local Time: 05:24 PM
Alright all you smart folks - I bit and decided to download Firefox, but now when I click that icon to start surfing, every site I try to go to a box pops up that says "www._______.com cannot be found. Please check the name and try again."

Says that for interference, google, msn, everything. When I first went to run it, it asked if I wanted to to import my bookmarks from IE and I said yes, could that be part of the problem?
__________________
bonosloveslave [at] interference.com
bonosloveslave is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 04:55 AM   #10
Blue Crack Supplier
 
Popmartijn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 32,543
Local Time: 11:24 PM
It seems to me that Firefox does not know how to connect to the Internet. Go to Tools -> Options. In the General tab click on Connection Settings (lower right corner). What does it say? It has to have the same settings as IE has (in Extra -> Options and then the Connections tab, maybe even the LAN Settings (this may vary a bit as I have a localised version of IE here)).

Hope this helps.

C ya!

Marty
__________________
Popmartijn is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 05:23 AM   #11
Blue Crack Addict
 
beli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In a frock in Western Australia
Posts: 15,464
Local Time: 06:24 AM
I have Mozilla also :clap:
__________________
beli is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 06:00 AM   #12
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
DrTeeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Q continuum
Posts: 4,770
Local Time: 11:24 PM
I have Mozilla 1.6, is it worth it to go to Firefox and is Firefox a beta?
__________________
DrTeeth is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 06:49 AM   #13
Blue Crack Supplier
 
Popmartijn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 32,543
Local Time: 11:24 PM
Firefox is a browser-only application. (Mozilla is a whole suite including mail, composer, etc.) Both are based on the same architecture. I prefer Firefox because it is browser-only and apparently faster than Mozilla. The current version of Firefox is 0.9, but it's as good as any browser. They started developing it based on Mozilla 1.0, so you cannot consider it a 'beta' anymore.

C ya!

Marty
__________________
Popmartijn is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:26 PM   #14
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5,549
Local Time: 11:24 PM
Mozilla rulet
__________________
Tomer is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 04:06 PM   #15
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
Elvis Presley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: eachnotesecure.com
Posts: 5,058
Local Time: 06:24 PM
Im on the bandwagon, i used to use Opera, im liking Firefox better....
__________________

__________________
Elvis Presley is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com