Infringement

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Why would it not?

Bono's name is popular worldwide...unless of course, he has an interest in these restaurants.

:|

why don't we copyright the letter e, too?

Actually you might say that Bono infringed on the name of the founder Lou Bono, who clearly had the name first if he was firing up BBQ pits in 1949.

:tsk:

it's not copyright infringement, but it definitely could violate Bono's "right of publicity." basically, if a court finds that consumers would be confused into thinking that Bono actually was affiliated with this restaurant, and that the owners of the restaurant used that name to capitalize on Bono's reputation, it could enjoin the proprieters from using the name.

(sorry, i'm a lawyer :nerd: :wink: )

here's some more info on rights of publicity:

http://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/index.php/Publicity

"The Right of Publicity prevents the unauthorized commercial use of an individual's name, likeness, or other recognizable aspects of one's persona. It gives an individual the exclusive right to license the use of their identity for commercial promotion."

Last edited:
I didn't click the link nor have I ever heard of this place but how do you know the last name is not pronounced Bone-o like Sonny Bono?

I used to work for a phone book advertising co. I spent many hours proofing phone books :)crack: yes people actually do get paid to read those things before they go to print :crazy: ) and there's plenty of people with the last name of "Bono" out there.

arw9797 said:
I didn't click the link nor have I ever heard of this place but how do you know the last name is not pronounced Bone-o like Sonny Bono?