I'm missing out on at least half of the songs.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FitzChivalry

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
At the bottom of the ocean, in the deepest sea
Not sure if this belongs in ZC, but . . .

I was reading through the paragraphs in the Symphonic Mini-Tournament threads and I realize that I haven't had time to read or figure out lyrics to songs for quite a while now . . . years actually.

When I was much younger, I used to relish buying a cd, putting it on and lying on my bed reading the lyric sheet as the disc played on. That's why I know so many lyrics to 80s up through mid to late 90s music.

But then I graduated college and went to law school and blah blah blah and all that followed, and I just have never had time since then to really dig in to the lyrics to any new music.

I frickin' LOVE Bloc Party and I don't know the lyrics to 95% of their songs! (I did make an effort with "Waiting For The 7.18" because I absolutely adore that song and I just had to know what he was singing!) Even HTDAAB, I never really had time to sit down and figure out all the lyrics. I don't even think I could cite "Vertigo" lyrics accurately . . . and that song was everywhere.

Plus, so much new music is digitally downloaded and doesn't even have lyric sheets.

I guess it just bums me out. I feel like I'm missing over 1/2 the song without knowing the lyrics. I couldn't even partake in the Symphonic Mini-Tournament if I wanted to -- you have to know the lyrics to have a theme.

Damn growing older and not having time for youthful indulgences anymore! :madspit:

/ranting

I used to focus a lot more on lyrics than I do now. These days, I find myself drawn much more to the feel of the song and the music, and the lyrics are usually secondary.