I need computer help! - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2005, 02:24 PM   #1
The Fly
packcrush's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Derry, Ireland
Posts: 285
Local Time: 07:36 PM
I need computer help!

Okay; this is my problem.

I am the proud owner of a laptop; I have had it for about a year. Recently I've been having alot of popups and all that crap and today; when I turn it on; and after windows has loaded up fully; I get a window explorer message, stating "Windows explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience" with all the "tell microsoft about this problem" stuff at the bottom. So when you let windows explorer close; everything, including the start bar; but not my desktop background, vanishes.This is for a few seconds;then everything slowly comes back. However; a few seconds will pass; and the windows explorer message will come back. And the cycle continues. This has made my computer quite unusable

Does anyone have any idea what I can do? I know I'm being pretty vague; but I'm quite computer illiterate.

I suppose I could completely restart my computer with the disc that came with it; but this would mean loosing ALL my itunes/music/U2 bootlegs that I have built up. I share my bootlegs on the UnderABloodRedSky hub; and I don't want to loose them. It would honestly take me ages to get these files back. Which leads me to my second question:

Using the correct cable; how in the name of God can I send these files (they're big; in th Gb range) to my OTHER computer; temporarily; for me to fix my laptop; and then return them?

This probably seems very confusing; I'll try to explain anything further if it will help. Could anybody who understands computers please help? Thanks,


packcrush is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:43 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
nbcrusader's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,070
Local Time: 12:36 PM
Sounds like spyware. Don't re-format the hard drive. Use Ad-Aware or SpyBot to clean up your system.

nbcrusader is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 03:20 PM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Great Beyond//
Posts: 8,637
Local Time: 07:36 PM
Yea Don't re-format your hard drive. Get windows spyware protection thats the best one. Ad- ware and Spybot are also good one.
Mullen4Prez is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 03:29 PM   #4
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,120
Local Time: 08:36 PM
Every computer needs reformatting every 6 months. Does no end of good. I have a twin operating system and a ghost copy of my initial setup with all my main programs already installed so when things start getting messy I just ghost the image across, obviously backing up any emails that I have first of course. Can't go wrong!

Also just reading about your setup, if you have a lot of important files then you should use another hardrive to back them up to. Just connect your laptop to your PC with a crossover network cable and transfer the files to your PC or another hardrive. Makes sense cos like you said you don't wanna lose them, and a word of warning.....I had an IBM Deskstar 60gb hardrive that has just failed on me and I got it going again but it had lost a certain amount of data which really pissed me off. Don't let it happen to you!
rjhbonovox is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:03 PM   #5
enajh2's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Loughborough, UK
Posts: 1,815
Local Time: 07:36 PM
Right..assuming you are running Windows XP

Start Menu>Run.. Type Msconfig and hit enter. A configuration window should pop up...click the Startup tab.

Disable everything that doesn't look like anything to do with your antivirus or firewall software, assuming you have one or the other (or preferrably both). Just uncheck the boxes and hit OK/Apply and then close.

(You can always re-enable these things later by running Msconfig again, checking the boxes and rebooting)

It will ask you if you want to reboot now or later.
If you've unchecked everything in the Startup tab then I suggest taking your computer offline for when it reboots so it is not completely exposed to the web.

Rebooting now will just load windows with the default services. DONT open your browser, Internet Explorer etc as this is where most of the spyware and ad-ins will kick in if there are any, and could crash Windows Explorer again. Possibly re-installing the startup entries for the spyware programs!

I'm hoping that disabling the stuff in the Startup tab will make your copy of Windows usable so that you can install and run a spyware removal program, and then do a virus scan while your at it.

You will need to get a copy of Spybot / Ad-aware now while you're online because you won't want to open your browser after you reboot and when your computer is offline

Hope this helps
enajh2 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:22 PM   #6
Nate Dogg's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,087
Local Time: 03:36 PM
Make sure you have a firewall enabled...this is crucial....I learned this the hard way! (This was because I had to re-install Windows, but didn't re-install Service Pack 2...which is critical for initial release versions of XP)
Nate Dogg is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:27 PM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
elevation2u's Avatar
Join Date: May 2002
Location: corner of Badlands & Magnolia Mountain
Posts: 5,371
Local Time: 11:36 AM
get a Mac

elevation2u is offline  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com